Brain Dead

You can tell it has been “that kind of week” when you walk out of your house toward your car, realize it is not where you parked it, and start to panic-not about your stolen car- but about how you are going to get to school on time to copy the assignment for first period.  Then you slowly start to realize that your car wasn’t actually stolen, it was exactly where you parked it on another street.  Duh, Lisa.  Welcome to Wednesday.

I was obviously brain dead half awake this morning.

I have been digging my morning smoothies lately, but I really want to make sure I don’t find myself too hungry mid-morning so I switched things up today.  Hey, it is all about finding what works for you right?!

Breakfast was Chocolate-PB Overnight Oats and a french vanilla ices coffee.

In the mix was 3/4 cup oats, 1 tblsp cocoa powder, 1 cup almond milk, and 1 tblsp PB.  I mixed it up last night and refrigerated it overnight.  Yum.  I forgot how delightful soggy, cold oatmeal was.

Today I made my smoothie with about a half cup frozen strawberries, 8 ice cubes (no more, no less :) ), 1/2 cup each almond milk and water, and a scoop of chocolate shakeology. It was blended for about 3 minutes and tasted like Neapolitan ice cream- delish!

I am def. making this one again.  The only problem was that I was unable to keep my smoothie fresh tasting sitting on my desk (it got kinda warm) and I don’t have a fridge in my classroom.  Eating breakfast then sipping on the smoothie throughout the morning left me feeling full and satisfied throughout most of the day.  I had left over lasagna for lunch, a banana for an afternoon snack, and a chocolate chip Clif bar pre-Crossfit.  I think I can make it a full week of trying out these shakes!

I had a meeting after school and found myself getting home at 5:45.  Since Crossfit started at 6:30, I thought I’d make use of the time by running to and from class.  It was pretty warm out, though just a bit windy.

Crossfit is located exactly 1.21 miles from my house.  What a sneaky way for me to get in a run, huh?!

I tried to keep my pace up since it was such a short run (no, I did not run at the 3:04 min pace you see above), but finished 2.3ish miles in about 22 minutes.  This may be a new way to sneak in some speed work into my half marathon training.

Crossfit Strength today was 5 x 5 deadlifts and 5 x 5 overhead squats.  My legs were so tired from all the lunges Monday and the walking lunges yesterday (and the run to the gym today).  I gave it all I could.

  • For overhead squats I used 35lbs.  I tried heavier weight but my knees kept going over my toes, and that is a squatting no-no.
  • The deadlifts are slowly becoming something I enjoy immensely.  I shared a bar with Ali (who I finally got to meet today!) and we maxed out at 115lbs.  It was tough I’ll tell ya.

WOD- 15 minutes- As many rounds as possible

  • 10 toes to bar (my Gosh these are hard, I did a whole varety of interesting ways to get my toes up to the bar.  My left leg was very successful in reaching it, the right leg, not so much)
  • 10 push ups (modified on knee)
  • 10 plate jumps
  • 10 ring rows

I did 4ish rounds.  It was hard!

Well, now I am sitting on the couch, debating if I want red Gatorade or red wine.  Hmmmm. Jack is picking me up some pizza and a Caprese salad from Paolo’s, and Italian restuarant right next to the house.

I may also bake some support for parent-teacher conferences tomorrow in the form of chocolate-y brownies.  I have a feeling my co-workers will thank me!

~L

2 thoughts on “Brain Dead

  1. It was so awesome to finally meet you last night :) I plan on going tonight too the Kettle bell class. Are you going? We should plan a run together soon since the nice weather is on it’s way! (Hurray) :)

    • I had parent-teacher conferences tonight so I couldn’t make it tonight, but I am planning on going to bootcamp Saturday morning. Hopefully I’ll see you there?!

Leave a Reply

