It’s 5 o’clock Somewhere

Well lovelies, I said it before and I will say it again:  it is Friday, and though I am not sure how we got here, I will take it!  I woke up (unhappily) to that nasty rain/snow mix that I was hoping I wouldn’t see again until next winter.  Crappy weather=no recess= a LONG afternoon.  Good news is that I did actually make it until 2:40, but let’s back up to the beginning of my day.

This week I decided to try out a new food shopping plan.  This new plan was inspired by my desire to NEVER have to food shop solely on a Sunday.  My new plan ivolves me shopping for the first few days of the week  on Sunday and then sometime midweek picking up food for the end of the week.   As I have said before I am a planner and on Sunday I basically know what I will eat for breakfast, snacks, lunch, and most dinners during the week.  This week while beginning my new “plan” I never provisioned for the thought that I wouldn’t feel like picking up groceries midweek(I should’ve known better). Result?  I had no food to make for breakfast this morning, had a half cup of yogurt and 3 (THREE) strawberries left for snack, and only had celery/carrots/cucumbers left for lunch.  Not very satisfying!

So, what DID I eat?

For breakfast I had a medium french vanilla iced coffee with extra skim milk.  While I was at Dunks I decided to have a corn muffin.  I haven’t had a muffin in a looonnnggg time and soon figured out why: after eating it I was just as hungry as before I ate it!

Snack was a half-cup of low-fat vanilla yogurt with 3 (literally) strawberries and a chocolate-chocolate chip Vita Muffin.

After school I met some coworkers at a local restaurant for “book club”.  I had a few tasty beverages and pita crisps dipped in the most creamy spinach and artichoke dip.  I have such a good time every time I am out with my fellow teachers 🙂

I had a few of these babies...

and split this tasty app

Around 5:30 I headed home feeling quite content.  The sun was low in the sky and sitting in my car with the heat on I imagined that it was summer outside, ahhhhhh what an amazing feeling.  I turned on my favorite 5 o’clock music: Ray Lamontange.  For those of you who don’t know him, you MUST check him out.  He is amazing and his lyrics are so beautiful.  Today I listened to the “Til the Sun Turns Black” album, and it really hit the spot music wise, do you know what I mean?  I have grown to love all the tracks on the record but my first favorite is track 2, Empty.

Mo called me as I was driving home and we decided to meet at another tavern to have a few drinks and some more food.  She had just gotten out of the gym (I took today off, Fridays are my usual skip day) and I wanted to catch up with her because our schedules are oppositely crazy.  While chatting I had one more Mic Ultra and split and order of potato skins (which I dipped in ranch dressing, mmmm).

I am in the process of writing my “About ME!” section and I was bouncing ideas off of her, just trying to verbalize what the whole point of this blog is!  To be honest, I don’t think I can yet verbalize what I envision.  I can picture it my head but can’t quite get it out in the right words just yet.  I talked about personal goals, especially in regards to food and exercise and balancing it while LIVING life.  I know that at some recent points in my life I have focused more on one than the other.  I have yet to find that perfect balance between eating, exercising, and living (and that is what I am leaning toward when writing this blog).  I think I am doing this to share my struggle/success with living as healthy as I can, while trying to find my balance.

Anyone have any suggestions or thought-provoking questions that can cure me of my writers-block? Help a sista out!

Well, I am looking forward to curling up on my couch and catching up on some reading this weekend.  The book I am currently trying to read is Chelsea Handler’s newest book.  I have read her first two and am going to see her when she hits Boston in April.  I have heard that it really isn’t as good as the other two but we shall see (and I will let you all know what I think!).

Peace out

~L

Leave a Reply

