Developing Healthy Eating Goals

Hello all!  I am loving vacation because so far I have been able to post in the afternoon and evenings, it is awesome!  🙂

Today was perfect weather wise and also very productive for me.  I had plenty of time to ponder some new goals.  To me, goals are the most important part of maintaining a fit life.  I have found that food and fitness goals encourage a healthy life style by giving me something to work towards. Goals prevent eating and work out boredom.  Goals that I have set for myself have brought me to where I am currently, which is a million miles away from where I ever thought I could be.  For me, they need to be several small, do-able goals that add up to big changes.  When I was sitting today and thinking about my most current goals, nothing specific came to mind (eek!).  This means that I have been just going through the day-to-day motions of my eating/gym routine.  THIS IS NOT GOOD!

One thing I do know is that my diet has been very…well...relaxed.  I am finding I have a lot of “special occasions” to over-indulge with wine and sweets (who can’t find a reason to have a glass?).  As a result, I am finding myself with mood swings and energy highs and lows like you wouldn’t believe.  I think part of it may have to do with not listening to my body’s cues of hunger, but also in making poor choices in the food I eat.  That is why my most current set of goals I am pondering are related to HEALTHY EATING.  My goal for the next few weeks is to read a ton of materials (magazines and books) and decide what I feel is healthy and DO-ABLE for me!

To begin developing my HEALTHY EATING goals I first have to define what I feel is healthy, and what is not.

Healthy According to Lisa:

  • Drinking lots of water
  • Eating all food groups
  • Eating appropriate portions of lean protein (chicken, turkey) and complex carbohydrates (whole grains)
  • Eating lots of fruits and veggies
  • Choosing foods that are closest to their “natural form” (less processed/refined foods)
  • Eat 3 meals a day with 2 snacks
  • Choose meats that are organic/free range/natural
  • Be mindful of where my food comes from and what it is made of (ingredients list should be shorter, meaning it is closer to its natural state)
  • Knowing what “moderation” is!  By this I mean, not depriving myself but not justifying/overindulging.

Unhealthy According to Lisa

  • Simple Carbs- white rice, white sugar, white flour (all are processed)
  • Justifying overindulgence!
  • Unnecessary alcohol consumption (see moderation above!)
  • Junk Food: including candy, fried foods, refined sugar, etc (again, see Moderation)

What would you add/take off my “healthy” vs. “unhealthy” list? I am hoping to develop some new eating goals by the end of April so I want to know everything you know and where you learned it!  Share your successful eating habits with me, tell me what works for you!

After spending much of my afternoon reading healthy living books/mags at Barnes and Noble (and drinking a Grande Skinny Vanilla Latte), I stopped by Trader Joe’s to pick up a few snacks that I would classify as healthy.  Unsweetened and dried pineapples and cherries are “healthy” snack options to me because they each have one ingredient: dried (pineapple) (cherry).  YUM!

Just like a fruit roll-up, except healthier!

Tonight for dinner I made Chicken Picatta.  If there is anything I love cooking with in the world it is LEMON!  It is so fantastic when added to any dish, and obviously it is the key ingredient in picatta.  I got Trader Joes All Natural Chicken breasts and seasoned them with Salt and Pepper, then dredged then in whole wheat flour.  I cooked them in 3 tbsp EVOO and 2 tbsp butter.  And while I was cooking I enjoyed a bottle of Grenache wine that Jack bought me in Vermont.

When the chicken was cooked all the way through, I placed them on a dish.  To the pan I added 1 cup of chicken broth and 2/3 cups of lemon juice.  I let it simmer in the pan until it reduced a little and added 1 tbsp more of butter.  Then I added the chicken back to the pan and let it simmer for 5 to 10 minutes.  I served it over a cup of whole wheat pasta.  MMMMMM


Well, I think did more reading today that ANY TEACHER should do during April Vacation 😉  so I am going to bed!

Night!

~L

Leave a Reply

