Good Day to you…

Dear Mother Nature,

Thank you for recognizing I did not make it to a beach this April Vacation and giving me a nice stretch of spring weather.  I really enjoy rolling down the car windows, throwing on my sunglasses, and going about my daily business!  The sun really does bring out the best in me.  Keep up the good work!

Lisa

____________________________________________________________________________

As you can tell I am very happy with the spring weather, but then again, who isn’t 😉  I woke up around 9:30 and had a bowl of instant oatmeal sprinkled with lots of cinnamon.  It was really good but I need to find a less processed breakfast food than instant oatmeal- anyone have any suggestions?

I met Amy at the gym for a little bit of cardio and Day 2 Weights which are legs.  I LOVE our new leg day, it is beyond challenging!  For cardio I did one mile on the treadmill to {finally} calibrate my Nike running chip Mo got me.  I am now looking forward to seeing what this baby can do for me!  The first thing I am going explore is the website which keeps tracks of all the runs done around my neighborhood.  That means no more creeping around in my car trying to reach “x” miles!  I then did just about 10 minutes on the Cross Trainer.

For legs, wow, that is all I can say.  I am pushing myself more than I have ever before, and my legs are becoming so phenomenally toned because of the combination of running and Day 2 weights.  Our Day 2 includes five exercise which work a different part of the leg.  I am sometimes AMAZED at how much my legs “support” me, they are stronger than I would’ve ever imagined (and sometimes I do underestimate them).  By then end of the workout today, my legs were screaming at me, saying “NO MORE!”.  It is a good feeling, though I am not positive stairs will be my friend tomorrow 🙂

  1. Alternating Lunges using the Smith Machine (quads)-  I do 3 sets of 10 to 12 with 50lbs.
  2. Incline Squat Machine (butt)- 3 sets of 8-15: Set 1- 50lbs, Set 2- 100lbs, Set 3 120lbs
  3. Deadlifts (hamstrings)- 3 sets of 15, using two 20lb dumbells
  4. Calf Raise (calves)- 3 sets of 10ish, 90lbs (the example is a standing calf raise, we do a seated calf raise, but they both work!)
  5. Adductor Machine (inner thigh)- Set 1- 20reps, 70lbs   Set 2 and 3- 8 to 15 reps, 75lbs

What are you favorite leg exercises?  Do you prefer using your body weight, Smith Machine, straight bar, dumbbells, something else? I love to hate lunges!

I tried my first gym shake after the workout today.  I am really going to start making them on my own, but for today this way easier.  My shake was called ‘Bananas and Berries’ because it had, well, bananas, strawberries, raspberries, one scoop of vanilla whey protein, and non-fat milk.  It was tasty, but not as cold as I was imagining it should be. NOTE TO SELF:  add lots of ice/really cold milk when making my own smoothies!

What is you favorite post workout treat?  Do you drink shakes regularly? For me I find it very easy to go home and have a glass of wine while preparing dinner, but it doesn’t keep my wine drinking in the “moderation” category of my diet where it should be.  I need some new suggestions!

When I got home I made myself some lunch. Since I haven’t gone food shopping I needed to make due with what I had on hand.  Guess what I had on hand- PIZZA STUFF (obvi)!


Lisa’s Pizza:

  • 3 to 4 tblsp of Pastene Marinara Sauce
  • A dash of crushed red pepper, garlic powder, Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper
  • A sprinkling of parmesan cheese
  • Couple handfuls of part-skim mozz. cheese
  • Half slice of pepper-jack cheese torn into small pieces
  • 1 Flat-Out for crust

Place on cookie sheet and assemble pizza as usual.  Cook at 450 degrees for 5 to 10 minutes.  It is so crispy and good!

Tonight I am heading to a fundraiser for Autism with Kristin and am looking forward to supporting a cause that effects both my family and my school’s community.  The money raised tonight gets donated to the public schools in my city.  Mix in a chinese food buffet and a comedy show and you’ve got yourself a worthwhile night.

Don’t forget I need to pick your brain on a few things:

  1. Do you know of any unprocessed foods that are good for breakfast?
  2. How do you treat yourself after a hard workout?
  3. What are your favorite leg exercises?

Until tonight,

~L

6 thoughts on “Good Day to you…

  1. Hi Lisa,

    I have read over your blog a little bit and I am enjoying it I think because I am kind of on the same path. I have lost about 27 lbs in the last 2 years, majority since Nov 2008. But I started running last year and have increased my distance/speed over time.

    But anyways a few of my regular breakfast options are:
    1. 1 thomas english muffin light, 100 calories and like 8 g fiber
    Spread i cant believe its not butter light on the muffin
    2 hard boiled eggs, 1 w/ the yolk one w/out

    2. 1 cup Trader Joes twigs, flakes or something high fiber cereal
    1/2 cup stonyfield ff french vanilla yogurt
    1 small banana cut up, or 1/2 large
    and sometimes i add grapes, pineapple if i have it.

    3. 1 thomas english muffin light, spread almond butter on it and 1 banana

    • Number 2 sounds so delicious, bananas and yogurt are two of my diet staples right now! My downfall is that I really hate eggs, but I know they are so good for you!

  2. Hey Lisa,
    I have enjoyed reading your blog, you are very good at keeping up with writing! As you know I did weight watchers a couple years ago, and still stick to much of it for maintaining purposes. But just wanted to add some ideas that worked for me:
    For breakfast I usually stick to WW Yogurt, or 100 cal bagels with WW Cream Cheese. (The WW products are obviously more expensive than buying regular cream cheese but it is just easier for me because it is all portioned out)
    Also 100 cal popcorn is great for snacking.
    For exercise we play lots of tennis, and usually give Vinnie a two mile walk a day, plus add on to that chasing a two month puppy around the house.

    I loved the photo’s of your trip to VT and day with Holly! I wish we could have been there too. I miss you guys. We should all make plans to get together, and we still want you and Jack to come up and visit!!
    Talk soon, and keep up the blogs, I’m enjoying them.
    Lots of love-Meghan

    • Hey Meghan! I’ve been so good a keeping up with the writing this week because of vacation! I remember when I first saw you after you joined W.W. and thinking “I want to lose weight too, she looks great!”. You were part of my inspiration so thanks for that! I agree that WW food has everything all portioned out for you, and I am a huge fan of things that make my life easier!

  3. Pingback: Give Props to a Teacher… « Want.Believe.Achieve

  4. Pingback: A Food Funk and Long Legs « Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

