Saturday Morning Pancakes and Food Thoughts

Good afternoon friends!  How is everyone’s weekends going so far? I just got in from food shopping and it is soooo nice outside.  You really couldn’t ask for better Saturday weather!

This morning I woke up with a HUGE headache.  I don’t get headaches too too often but when I do it is because I need to eat and drink water.  I decided today was a prefect day to make myself breakfast.  I love pancakes, and sometimes forget how easy it is to make them.  When I was little my dad would always make me chocolate chip pancakes and I’d wash them down with a HUGE glass of ice-cold whole milk (those were the days).  Up until I started cooking on my own I never thought you could put anything else in pancakes but chocolate chips 🙂

One of the blogs I read, Cara’s Cravings, had a recipe for Strawberry Coconut Pancakes.  I really wanted to try her recipe because all her recipes are low-fat and good for you (made with whole grains and such), but her recipe called for a whole bunch of ingredients I didn’t have on hand (I’ll try to make them the REAL way in the future).

Lisa’s Very Lazy strawberry coconut Pancake Knock-offs:

  • Fiber One pancake mix (just put a bunch in a bowl)
  • 3 slices strawberries
  • 3-4 pinches of shredded coconut (mine was sweetened)
  • water

I mixed them all in a bowl and cooked on a griddle with 2 tblsp of butter.  I topped with some fresh blueberries and sugar-free maple syrup!  MMMMMM.

After breakfast I headed up to Trader Joes and Hannaford to do my food shopping.  My head is SWARMING with nutrition facts and ideas from two of the books I am reading so I went to Trader Joes to buy stuff.  By stuff I mean I made a list and was going to go to Joes first to see if I could get any of my stuff there.  I like that they have organic, all natural chicken because one of the books I am reading had currently scared the bejeesus out of me in regards to eating corn-fed animals.  If you are interested in details, email me (wantbelieveachieve@yahoo.com), if not I will spare you!

I picked up some oatmeal, cheese sticks, Twigs Flakes and Clusters cereal (a suggestion I can’t wait to try), Natural Agave Nectar, Whole Wheat bread, and a couple other things.  At Hannaford I got my yogurt, some fresh mozzarella, and a couple of things.  In the end I spent just as much as I would have at one store, but did notice that many of the items I bought at Joes were more expensive at Hannaford.  Wowzas- who knew food shopping could be such a chore?!

Since I didn’t post last night let’s back track a little bit…..

Yesterday, despite having the sorest hamstrings in the world, I decided to go for a run.  I have been keeping my runs to every other day, and do about 3 a week.  This week I ran Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  My legs are officially in resting-mode for the rest of the weekend!  One reason I am taking a break these two days is because I want to start the week well rested.  Monday I need to hit the ground running (pun intended) in my fit life because Amy and I are starting our new weights, getting in some morning gym sessions, and starting the running club!  My first race is in just 15 days, 15!!!  This will be a busy time in school too because the MCAS is just a few weeks away and it is crunch time for math!

My run yesterday was interesting.  It started off sunny as I drove to the Lake but then it got cloudy.  I REALLY DIDN’T WANT TO RUN, and was trying to think of every excuse to not run.  I promised myself if it rained I wouldn’t feel guilty going back home.  Even though I my prayers for rain went unanswered I was OK with running because I knew how great I’d feel after the run.

I stretched my legs and was off.  I used my Nike Running Chip to map my distance, speed, and time.  It is super cool and will keep track of all my runs (or workouts as it calls them) and will keep track of my personal best and stuff.

It’s kind of blurry, so let me translate for you:

Distance: 3.18 miles

Time: 29.23  ( i had to stop twice to tie my shoe, I never have to tie my shoes during a run, WEIRD)

Pace: 9.16 per mile

Calories: 312

After my run I stopped at the farm stand by my apartment to pick up some fresh fruits and veggies for the week.  There are a few things I love about buying my stuff here:

  1. They let you try the fruit before you buy it!  They’ll cut an orange for you to try a slice or give you a grape to taste.  I like that because I bought ranges from Shaws last week and they were flavorless and not juicy!  This ensures you are getting good tasting fruit.
  2. It’s cheaper!  Sometimes their berries are 3 for $5.  Raspberries alone cost $5 at the grocery store so this is a bargain.  I got oranges 4 for $1 and strawberries for $2, same with blueberries.
  3. They have two recipes written on a chalkboard, featuring one of their produce items.  Last time there was a sweet potato recipe that I wrote down (but have yet to try). I love getting new ideas for food.

All my goodies

I then walked to Starbucks to get a skinny iced vanilla latte and bumped into an interesting snack.  As you know I have been exploring “healthy eating” and what it means for me.  One thing I know for sure is that I am would like to cut down on the amount of refined sugar I eat and try to eat more natural foods, meaning that they are in a form close to as they are found in nature.  Well Starbucks is the only local place that sells Two Moms in the Raw granola bars.  I tried one a few weeks ago as my pre run fuel and post run snack and it was very filling.  The bars are chewy and naturally sweet, who knew something so natural could taste so amazing!  I only got two because they are kind of expensive, they are definitely going to be a “treat” as opposed to a diet staple.  I got the blueberry granola bar which I had before and a gojiberry which I can’t wait to try.

Two Moms in the Raw produce these bars that:

  • contain no refined sugars
  • are 100% raw and organic
  • dairy-free, wheat-free, and gluten-free
  • have no added oils

I know what you are thinking, I must be turning into a hippie-tree-hugger (no offense to anyone who is) but I am not!  These bars are actually good and they taste really good.  They both contain organic coconut, apples, blueberries, and agave nectar (a natural sweetener).  Don’t knock it until you try it!

Some pretty flowers to brighten your day!

Yesterday afternoon I went to a coworker’s house with some fellow teachers to drink fruity drinks and nibble on appetizers while trying to forget that vacation is almost over.  The company was great, food and drinks were delicious, but vacation is still almost over (there’s nothing changing that 😦  ) I then took my mom to run a couple of top-secret errands (more details to follow) and grabbed a pizza at Polcari’s for dinner.  It was really good to catch up with her because we haven’t done dinner in forever (HI Mom!)  I HEART pizza a lot! I can’t believe at one point this week I thought I was over it!

Me forgetting to take pictures for the entire afternoon/evening=blogger fail (sorry)!

What food (healthy or not) can’t you live without?  You know the food you try not to eat all the time, but it is the first choice that pops in your head when you are deciding what to eat? For me it is (at the moment) pizza but I can think of plenty of worse foods I have loved in the past:  slim jims, munchos, salsa Doritos, Jalepeno Popper Doritos to name a few!

Until Later

~L

Leave a Reply

