Sunday Funday meets Sunday Night Blues

Welcome to Sunday night….the last night of vacation 😦  No Sunday night is harder than the one at the end of vacation and no Monday is worse than the first day back. It’s going to be a pretty rough stretch getting back into the swing of things (I have both lunch duty AND a two-hour meeting after school tomorrow).  As I said before, I love how vacations allow you time to do things at the pace you want to do them, as opposed to around a crazy work schedule.  But there is no use complaining because I have several exciting things coming up:

  1. I start the running club Tuesday!
  2. My first road race is exactly 2 weeks from today.
  3. I got accepted into the Harpoon 5 mile-r at the beginning of June.
  4. I am starting a new set of ass-kicking weights and incorporating some morning gym sessions into my routine.
  5. Getting back into regular and more healthy eating habits, which includes limiting my drinking to just two nights a week!

It is very easy to think negative thoughts (“Vacation is over…) so I came up with the list above to try to stay a bit more positive (“Running club starts Tuesday!”)

Are you a glass half-full or glass half-empty type of person?? I think I tend to lean toward glass half-empty (like spending a Sunday dreading going back to school instead of enjoying the day off), but then try to see how I could see the glass half-full (like I did above, think of what I can look forward to).

I will say, my entire vacation was jam-packed with lots of activity which was nice, and looking back I enjoyed every minute of it (even Vermont….a little 😉 ) Yesterday I lounged around my apartment until about 2, at that time I took a shower and headed to Jack’s to cook some dinner.  Before I got cooking I met up with Mo for some beverages.  I thought it was really important to spend SOME time outside!

For dinner I made balsamic chicken and lemon-smashed potatoes (Giada’s recipe).  The meal was light and summer like.  We started with our typical his and hers salads.  His had romaine lettuce, spinach, pepperoni, and American cheese slices.  Hers had romaine lettuce, spinach, sliced peperoncini, grape tomatoes, and cucumbers.  Both had Newman’s Own Lite Balsamic Vinagerette dressing.

Balsamic Chicken:

  • 1 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 cup honey
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 5 cloves of garlic halved
  • 3-4 chicken breasts (de-goobered_

Mix vinegar, honey, sugar, and garlic in Tupperware container until honey and sugar are dissolved.  Add chicken and marinate 1 hour 40 min in fridge, and 20 min room temperature.  Cook in foil lined pan for 30 minutes at 400 degrees.  Reduce left over marinade in saucepan until kind of thick and glaze on chicken for the last 5 minutes of cooking.

Lemon Smashed Potatoes (Giada’s Recipe)

(This is only half the recipe, check out the link above for the full recipe if you’re interested!)

Potatoes:

  • 2 pounds baby or fingerling potatoes
  • 1/4 cup olive oil, plus extra as needed
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and halved

For the potatoes: Put the potatoes in an 8-quart stockpot with enough cold water to cover by at least 2 inches. Bring the water to a boil over medium heat and cook until the potatoes are tender, about 20 to 25 minutes. Drain the potatoes in a colander and allow to dry for 5 minutes. Using the palm of your hand, gently press the potatoes until lightly smashed.

In a large, nonstick skillet, heat 1/4 cup of oil over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant and lightly brown, about 1 minute. Remove the garlic and discard. In batches, add the potatoes and cook, without stirring, until the bottoms turn golden brown, about 5 to 8 minutes. Using a spatula, turn the potatoes over and cook, drizzling with oil, if needed, until golden brown on the other side for another 5 to 8 minutes.

This is the Lemon drizzle (see link for recipe)

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Today I got to celebrate my Dad’s 60th Birthday with family and friends (his official birthday is tomorrow)!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD!!!

My Dad and Me a looong time ago!

and today!

We had a surprise party for him at Kowloon, which is where I went Friday with my mom to order the food!  And yes, two times in one week is more than enough for Chinese food!  About 25 of us got together to celebrate 60 years of Mike and with a lot of food to eat.  My mom definitely did a great job picking our favorites: fingers, wings, ribs, crab rangoon, spring rolls, you get it right!  She also ordered fried rice, lo mein, General Gau’s chicken, broccoli and pea pods, hon su guy….as you can imagine, I almost ate myself into a coma.

lots of left overs!

His cake was Red Sox themed, from Spinellis.  It was a marble cake with thick, sugary frosting.  And did I mention it was delicious?!

After Kowloon we all went back to my parent’s house.  I got home at about 6:30 and started to get everything ready for tomorrow/this week.  First, I continued to ignore the three piles of papers I told myself I’d correct over vacation (even teachers procrastinate).  Then I packed my work clothes for tomorrow (I don’t even know what the weather s going to be).  I am going to the gym in the morning because, as I said before, I have a meeting after school tomorrow.  For this reason I also packed my breakfast and lunch.  Tomorrow morning I will have to shower, grab my food out of the fridge, and be on my way.  I am very excited at the prospect of getting home at 5:30 tomorrow and not having to go back out!  I LOVE EARLY GYM DAYS!!

Do you usually get ready in the morning or the night before work? My normal routine is to do everything in the morning, so it takes a little bit of adjusting getting everything ready the night before!

I am going to spend the rest of the night watching Hills reruns (love them!) and reading…

Night!

~L

Leave a Reply

