Right Back at it!

Hellloooo all!  All my teacher friends, I hope you had a great first day back.  Unlike most days back from vacation, I didn’t TOTALLY dread today.  I mean I wasn’t jumping for joy that vacation was over, but like I said yesterday- I’ve got lots of things to look forward to!  I think I am on to something with my new “glass half full” outlook on life (let’s hope it lasts!).

Let’s start with this morning:

I woke up at 4:45 a.m., showered, and basically left for the gym.  It was so great having everything all ready to go.  It made my morning a little more low maintainance than usual.  I ate a banana on my way for some pre-workout fuel.

I started with 25 minutes on the Cross Trainer.  The time flew by!  The first reason I like morning gym is because it gives me time to socialize before heading to school.  I mean anyone who knows a girl knows we can talk..a lot 🙂  Sometimes the downside to being a teacher is that you are around kids all day and the little time you get with adults is spent talking about the kids, haha.  Morning gym gives me my convo fix first thing!

Then it was time for some weights.  I did our new routine for Day 1- Chest and Triceps for the first time.  The first time doing new weights is always a little awkward because your muscles aren’t used to the new movement.  Most of your energy is spent getting a smooth motion down and focusing on correct form.

Day 1- Chest and Triceps

  1. Dumbbell Chest Press– 3 sets of 15 reps, with 15lbs.
  2. Incline Push-Up (on bar)– 3 sets of 8-10 with body weight.
  3. “Skull Crusher” for Triceps– Ummmm, with these my banana had officially given me the last of my energy.  I was shaking sooooo bad that I couldn’t even complete one set!  Guess I need more fuel for this kick-ass workout!  I subbed in 3 sets of 15 triceps dip just for this morning.
  4. Triceps Pushdown–  My arms were toast for this!  I did 3 sets f 10 with 60lbs, but I secretly know I could’ve done more….

______________________________________________________________________________

Random TIP:  I lift more weight, resulting in less reps because this builds muscle mass.  I typically aim to complete 8-12 reps per set.  If I can do more than that then I know I need to increase my weight.  Remember, girls can not naturally look like crazy-body-builder-men, so don’t be scared of busting out the heavy weights!

______________________________________________________________________________

During the gym I made sure to drink one full (but small) water bottle (which I did!).  On bad running/weight days a lot of my problems come from being dehydrated.  I get headaches and get dizzy and light headed.  I know that drinking 2 liters of water a day has great health benefits BUT I can’t STAND water.  I could actually go through an entire day with drinking nothing but one coffee in the morning.  This has got to change so I am going to drink one small bottle of water each morning before I can have my coffee.  It is a place to start!

Moving on with my morning….On my way to school I stopped for a D.D Dark Roast with skim milk.  It was soooo dark!  They put next to no milk in it!  I drank it while eating my second breakfast- a cup of Trader Joe’s Twigs-Flakes-& Clusters cereal.  I poured 3 diced strawberries, some cinnamon, and 1% milk on top.  It was an interesting combination to say the least, but I ate the whole thing!

I was way hungrier than usual by 10.  Our usual snack time is 10:30ish so I was scared I was going to get grouchy because I was hungry.  One thing I’ve learned is that I need to listen to my body when it is sending me “I’m hungry signals”.  Old Me would ignore and try to hold out, but now I know better.  I dug right in to my low-fat vanilla yogurt with frozen raspberries and fresh blueberries!

For lunch I had a buffalo chicken salad sandwich with some Trader Joe’s popchips and some grapes.  The sandwich was an idea I got this weekend when I was trying to think of how to get more protein into my diet.  Even though I already get plenty, I am really looking to switch up my lunch options and that was the motivation to create this sandwich.  It was a little drier than I would’ve like (mostly because of the bread I think), but I was trying to keep it as healthy and delicious as possible.

Buffalo Chicken Salad

  • Rotiseree Chicken breast, shredded in food processor
  • chopped celery
  • chopped carrots
  • a bunch of Frank’s Buffalo Sauce
  • Two slice of Trader Joe’s soft whole wheat bread
  • romaine lettuce

and moving to the late afternoon/early evening…

The second reason I love morning gym so much is because it kept my energy up all day! Even during my super long afternoon meeting I stayed pretty with it, which is not usual!  I snacked on an orange while I was at the meeting.

The third reason I LOVE the morning gym- because I don’t have to get to the gym after loooonnnngg days! It was so nice to know that I already got the gym out-of-the-way.  Usually on Monday’s I don’t get home until 7ish.  For that reason I end up crashing on the couch and being very unproductive.  Today I got to make myself dinner!  I made a spaghetti sauce from scratch, mmmmm and ate it with whole wheat pasta.  In my opinion it’s the best sauce in the world!  I don’t make it with any meat so to spice it up (the way hot sausages would) I add crushed red pepper.

let it simmer...

Sauce

  • one green and one red pepper
  • one clove garlic
  • 1 small onion
  • 1/3ish cups EVOO
  • Seasonings to taste: crushed red pepper, salt, black pepper, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, oregano, sweet basil
  • parm. cheese
  • 3 cans Pasteene tomato puree
  • 1 can tomato paste

Finely chop the peppers, garlic, and onion.  Place the seasoning and veggies in the bottom of a sauce pot with the EVOO.  Let simmer 15-20 minutes on low-med heat.

Add 3 cans of puree and paste with 1/2 can of water.  Add parm cheese to taste.  Let sauce simmer (don’t boil) for 30 minutes.

Help me out!  What are some of your favorite Italian dishes I could try making using my sauce? I LOVE making eggplant or zucchini parmesan.  I also enjoy second day stuffed shells, but I need new ideas!

Tonight I am going to watch Intervention and do a little more reading..

Tomorrow starts the running club!  Woop Woop!

~L

One thought on “Right Back at it!

  1. Pingback: Skinny Bitches and Hungry Horrors « Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

