Welcome Weekend!

TGIF!  Anyone have any good plans this weekend? I am meeting up with the Running Club to do my homework tomorrow morning at 8 a.m.  The walk 4/run 2 intervals are really helping me get the correct pacing down and I am so happy about that!  I am running my first race on Mother’s Day (a week from Sunday, EEK!).  It is a 3.5 mile-r which I can definitely do, especially now that I have new kicks and the ability to talk while running!  It makes the time fly by when you can carry on a conversation!  I still can’t help but feel butterflies in my stomach about being part of an organized running event!

Does anyone else get pre-race jitters? What do you do to calm your nerves?  Do they stop when the race starts? My pre-race jitters come from doing something new for sure!  I am sure the jitters will mix with adrenaline and excitement before the race starts, but will dissipate once I get going.  My head always goes back to my initial running fear: people are going to be watching me, haha, and all the other runners of course!

This morning I  v e r y  s l o w l y got out of bed 15 minutes after my alarm went off at 4:15.  It wasn’t as easy to get up today as it was Wednesday and Monday, but that is what a week of school and running and weights will do to ya!  Last night I couldn’t get my act together either.  I was so scatter-brained that I was making my lunch and putting my bathroom back together (it just got painted) and blogging and packing clothes all at once.  It ended up taking me WAY longer than it should have to feel settled because I was doing bits and pieces of everything.

One of the things I did succeed in completing last night was making my Baked Oatmeal I have been dying to try.  I figured if I made it the night before, I could pop it in the oven when I woke up to just heat it up.  My plan worked out perfectly

BAKED OATMEAL

*          ½ rolled oats

*          ½ cup 1% milk

*          1 tblsp chopped almonds

*          1 tblsp dried cherries

*          A pinch of shredded coconut

*          ½ banana thinly sliced

*          1 tsp brown sugar

Mix all ingredients, except brown sugar, and bake at 350 for 25 minutes.  Top with brown sugar and bake for another 5 minutes.

Result?  PURE AMAZINGNESS!  It was so good and the dried cherries added a really nice sweetness with each bite!  I had ¼ cup of it about 45 minutes before the gym and finished the rest when I got to school.  I had a delicious Mocha Iced Coffee with skim milk from D.D. too!

Even though I couldn’t want to get out of bed this morning I did (and felt good knowing my gym buddy had the same trouble as me) because I knew the extra 30 or so minutes of sleep would be worth having to get to the gym this afternoon.  That is motivation enough: knowing the hardest part of my day will be done when my kids are dismissed at 2:40!

Today we did our new Day 4 Biceps and Shoulders with Abs.  I have said it every other weight day, and I do really mean it.  THESE WERE HARD!  First off, my abs still hurt from Wednesday (now I see why Oxygen said to give 48 hours to rest).  Second, my body is sore all over from running and all the other weights from the week.

Day 4 Biceps

  1. Dumbbell Arnold Presses (shoulders)-  3 sets of 12, 10lbs
  2. Bicep Curls with back/arms against wall– 3 sets of 10, 12.5lbs
  3. Barbell Upright Row– 3 sets of 12, 30lbs
  4. Outward Biceps Curls- 3 sets of 10, 12.5lbs

Well I am spending this evening with the ladies, catching up on our weeks, drinking red wine, and eating a home-cooked meal.  I am thoroughly looking forward to being home and IN BED by 10 🙂

I also got a new phone today, a Blackberry Storm (the new one), I can’t figure it out for the life of me.  I am not even sure it came with a wall charger 😉  This is a new feeling because usually I am pretty technologically savvy but this phone has me dumbfounded!  Anyone have any helpful hints to get me used to my new Blackberry???  HELP!

and I’m off…..

Later

~L

One thought on “Welcome Weekend!

  1. Pingback: Island Dreaming during a Rainy Day « Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

