Have you boiled your water today?

Hot Sunday afternoons, though enjoyable, make me super lazy!  I spent most of my day laying in bed; napping and lounging.  I have still been trying to catch up on me sleep from last week.  I feel like it is going to take my body a few weeks to adjust to morning gym three days a week.  Right now, between you and me, I want to scrap morning gym so I NEVER have to feel this tired on a weekend again!  But I have been in this “fit game” long enough to know that any change in a workout routine needs to be given some adjustment time, so I am willing to give it a while longer.

What is your newest routine you are trying to get the hang of?  Are you trying a different workout schedule? Giving up a bad habit?  Starting a new habit?  What motivates you to keep at it when it is tough? For me morning gym is a tough new routine I am trying.  I really do like it because I am a morning person and by mid-afternoon I am drained so morning gym makes the most sense!  However, as it stands currently, my energy is drained sooner in the afternoon than before.   

This morning I woke up and headed straight out to food shop.  I hate food shopping most of the time but because I am currently revamping my diet I am excited to get out there and see what I can find! Much like last week I did my first half at Trader Joe’s picking up oatmeal, bread, whole wheat tortillas, dried mangoes and pineapples (mmmm), and a few other things.  Then I headed to Hannaford for some lunch meat, yogurt, and Seltzer water.  As many of you know, Boston and a lot of surrounding cities are under a NO DRINKING WATER order so there is no bottled water anywhere to be found!

Leaving Jack's..

I did boil a whole pot of tap water in case I needed it.  I boiled it for like 10 minutes, even though they say water only needs to boil for one minute, to be safe.  Funny thing is, you don’t realize how much you use tap water.  Initially I thought, oh I can last a few days without running tap water, but then I tried baking some muffins.  Now I have a sink full of dirty dishes and a dishwasher full of dishes that need to be rewashed because of the ban.  Not to mention that fact that a lot of coffee shops had to close because they use tap water to make the coffee!  What am I going to do tomorrow morning?!

Did you boil your water today?

I also baked some muffins for my breakfast for the week.  I got the recipe out of the May issue of Fitness magazine.  They weren’t too involved and I actually had most of the ingredients on hand!

Fitness Mag’s Whole-Grain Banana Muffins

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine 1/2 CUP WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR, 1 CUP OATS, 1/4 TSP SALT, 1 AND 1/2 TSP CINNAMON, 1/2 TSP BAKING SODA.
  3. In a separate bowl, mash up 1 and 1/2 BANANAS
  4. In a third bowl, mix 1/2 CUP PLAIN NONFAT YOGURT, 1 EGG, 1/4 CUP HONEY, 2TBLSP CANOLA OIL, 1 TSP VANILLA. Add banana mixture then oat mix until combined.
  5. Place in 6 lightly greased muffin tins and bake 12 to 15 minutes.  Serve warm

They smelled delicious as they were baking.  They are so heavy!  I am not sure I have ever baked muffins from scratch so I am not sure if that is good or bad!  I will have one tomorrow morning sliced in half with 1 tblsp of peanut butter for breakfast before the gym.

Tonight for dinner I wasn’t really hungry, but I KNOW you shouldn’t skip meals! I debated what to have for a very long time (a good 2 hours, seriously).  I didn’t feel like cooking or ordering out.  In the end I decided on a bowl of Trader Joe’s Twigs cereal and an orange.  I am not entirely sure that is what I wanted, because right now all I can think about is chicken Caesar salad.  Hmmm…that could be my dinner option for tomorrow!

Well, nothing crazy going on here tonight.  I am going to the gym tomorrow morning so I will be up with the birds at 4:15.  I contemplated taking a walk or going for a run all day, and now that it is dark(er) out, maybe I should just couch it for the rest of the evening!

Peace

~L

2 thoughts on “Have you boiled your water today?

  1. Whoa, I didn’t know that Boston and surrounding communities were under a “no drinking water” order. So I just googled it and read about the broken pipe. I hope they have the situation fixed soon. The banana muffins look and sound delicious.

Leave a Reply

