Island Dreaming during a Rainy Day

Good morning everyone! So sad to see that it is rainy and gloomy out there, but at least we had a great week weather wise!  Rainy days on weekends are always days that I take to stay home and do nothing 🙂 because sun on weekends always makes me feel like I am missing something if I spend the day in my apartment, agreed??

I also decided against doing my Running Club homework this morning because of the weather, and because tomorrow’s 3.5 miles could definitely count in its place! Besides, tomorrow is RACE DAY, woop woop!  I want to save my energy for that!

Yesterday morning I was up at 4:15 to gym-it.  I decided to make some oatmeal pancakes. I LOVE cooking breakfast for myself in the morning because cooking has always relaxed me, and who couldn’t use a little relaxation to start the day 😉  Not to mention that it took no time to mix up the batter and cook them!

Oatmeal Pancakes

  • 1/2 cup pancake mix
  • 2/3 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon

Mix the batter up and scoop out pancakes with 1/4 cup of the batter each.  This made 4 FAT pancakes.  I ate two before the gym with sugar-free syrup.

And two at my desk with a banana and Dunkin Dark Roast.

And listened to some Bob Marley 😉  it reminded me of my trip to Negril, Jamaica last April, ahhhh, I LOVED that place! The weather was 80 and sunny the entire week with a couple mid-day showers.  We went to the spa, watched fire breathers preform, and heard steel drum bands play.  I relaxed a ton, got a great tan, and WOULD MOVE TO JAMAICA IN A HEART BEAT!  haha, who is with me?? Good memories!

Island dreaming I guess!

Ok, enough day dreaming....

Gym was Day 4 Biceps and Shoulders, and Abs.  We were super motivated I guess because we finished all but two exercises in the routine by 6!  Our AB routine was taken from Oxygen’s May Issue and we are going to be doing it each A.M. gym day.  THey suggest in the article to give 48 hours rest before completing the routine again (to give your muscles time to relax).

ABS

  1. Crunch on a Ball: 3 sets of 15, 10lbs
  2. Dumbbell Side Bend: 3 sets of 15, alternating sides, 15lbs in each hand
  3. Vertical Leg Raise: 3 sets of 15, using body weight  ( we use a slightly different machine than the one shown)

After school, in light of the 70 degree sunny weather, Amy and I took the T in town so I could check out Cole Haan’s spring collection.  See, for Christmas Jack bought me a GORGEOUS chestnut-brown bag from Cole Haan which fell apart.  We returned it and I got a credit but haven’t seen another bag I LOVE there since.  I don’t want to buy one just to buy one either, so I left empty-handed 😦

We also stopped by the Top of the Hub for a glass of wine.  We got a window seat overlooking the city and sipped a glass or Riesling.  It was so good, but I was starving!  Usually I have a snack around 3p.m. and dinner around 5ish on weekdays, and it was 5:30 and I hadn’t had either!  The wine definitely kept me from being cranky!

We headed back to Amy’s for her first attempt at homemade pizza.  She used whole wheat dough for the crust, Pastene marinara sauce, and lots of cheese.  It was delicious!

I had three pieces with my two glasses of wine!

By 9:30 I was super tired and couldn’t wait to lay and watch TV and sleep (hence the morning post instead of late night post).

This morning I woke up and grabbed a skinny vanilla latte from Starbucks and did my food shopping at Trader Joe’s and Hannaford.  I needed to get it out-of-the-way so I won’t have anything to do but celebrate after the race tomorrow!

How are you spending your weekend??

Enjoy your Saturday!!

~L

Leave a Reply

