Skinny Bitches and Hungry Horrors

I apologize in advance for any spelling errors in my post!  My spell check isn’t working and I did my best to catch the mistakes.  I have a habit of spelling several words wrong, most often the word “because”.  Please, just ignore any mistakes for tonight 🙂

Happy Monday! Haha, I know what you are thinking- what could possibly make anyone sound this chipper on a Monday?  Well……

1) I think I am still on my runner’s high from the race yesterday (what a tremendous sense of accomplishment!)

Bad ass runners man!

Does everyone look this happy to run? Woop Woop

2) Morning gym really pumps me up for my Monday.  So far, morning gym has made the school day much more tolerable because I know that my day is over when the bell rings at 2:40!  I also love being able to post and cook at a decent time!

Anyways- This morning was Day 1 Weights- Chest and Triceps and ABS.  I have been finding the past two weeks or so that I have done the Skull Crusher the wrong way!  This is not a new move to my routine, but I was using the wrong form every other time I did this move!  Since discovering my mistake, I have concentrated on keeping my elbows in (as opposed to out, which is the wrong way!).  Even though I have corrected my form and used a lower weight and reps for each of the weeks, I have found that my arms shake uncontrollably when I do them!  Does this ever happen to you when you are strength training??  If so, what do you do??

Last night I finally got to finish up the book Skinny Bitch, which I have been reading for the better part of, like, two months?!  What I found was that I was flying through the book, eating up every page and tip, and then I hit a wall and COULDN’T get through the end of it!  Well, last night I forced myself to finish!

There was some really great advice I will take, and some advice I will leave. What I loved about the book was the sassy way they wrote, it was like they were having a conversation with you.  I laughed out loud several times.  Here are some of my favorite quotes:

“You need to get healthy if you want to get skinny.  The first thing you need to do is give up your gross vices.  Don’t act surprised!  You cannot keep eating the same shit and expect to get skinny.” pg. 11

“Give up the notion that you can be sedentary and still lose weight.  You need to exercise, you lazy shit.” pg 20

“So shout it from the rooftops until everyone of your dumb-ass, misinformed friends hears: YOU CAN EAT BREAD AND FRUIT!” pg 26

“Confucius never said, “A hungry woman is like a tornado of red ants and wildebeasts,” but he should have.  Because it’s true.  A hungry woman is a crazy woman, who will destroy everything in her path to be rid of hunger.” pg 121

What I Chose to TAKE:

READ INGREDIENTS! They should be wholesome and “pure” without words like enriched or white flour, hydrogenated oils, or artificial anything. (pg 109)

  • Complex Carbs are our friend, simple carbs are not!  Complex Carbs include: potatoes, yams, sweet potatoes, barley, corn, brown rice, quinoa, and whole wheat pasta. These also includes fruits and vegetables!
  • Refined sugar is “the Devil” and has no nutritional value.  The best sugar substitutes include: evaporated cane juice, Sucanat, brown rice syrup, maple syrup, and molasses to name a few! (pg.31)

When switching up your diet, set mini goals for yourself and avoid comments with negative connotations!

  • Don’t say things like “I can NEVER eat (fill in the blank) again.”  That sets you up for feeling guilty and makes healthy changes sometimes seem impossible.  Take it one day at a time!  (pg. 118)

Exercise!

  • You can not lose weight and be healthy if you do not move!  You do not need to be a gym rat but you need to do something!

Eat slowly and deliberately

  • Plan what you eat and watch portion size so you aren’t ever eating out of convenience or hunger!
  • Eat slowly (takes about 20 minutes for your brain to sense you are full
  • Stop eating wen you feel full!

What I Chose to LEAVE:

Going Vegan

Though this book presents a good argument for become a Vegan/Vegetarian, I do not have it in me to give up meat, cheese, or any other dairy.  There is a very graphic chapter (that I had to read out loud to Jack because it is so disturbing) that desrcibes conditions at slaughterhouses and meat-packing plants, including how badly they treat animals. I did contemplate vegetarianism for like an hour, but in the end I decided against it.  No offense to anyone who chooses that lifestyle!  Eating a “fake chicken patty”, “fake meatballs”, or “fake deli meats” just wouldn’t work for me!

Fasting/ Waiting until you are hungry to eat

They also talk extensively about fasting as a way “to clean house” and rid the body of harmful toxins (pg 131-132).  This is something I could not do considering the amount of physical activity I do in a day!  I’d never have the energy to sustain any amount of exercise if I fasted.  Finally they suggest waiting until you are “truly hungry” to eat breakfast.  They say, “After a few days, you will grow to love that empty feeling in your stomach and know that the initial headaches, nausea, and hunger were just your body’s cleaning crew”.  I would be both miserable and cranky ALL DAY if I started my day with a headache and nausea!

Have you read “Skinny Bitch”?  What did you think of it?  Did it sway you to become vegan/vegetarian??

When I got home from school today, I munched on some Trader Joe’s dried mango.  So yummy!  I actually bought a real mango to cut up and eat as soon as it ripens, can’t wait!

Dinner started with a salad!

  • romaine letuce
  • arugula
  • cucumbers
  • tomatoes
  • diced pepper jack cheese
  • sliced pepperoncini peppers
  • Ken’s Tuscan Italian salad dressing

I also made some mac and cheese.  Tonight I tried Annie’s organic mac and cheese.  It was much different than the neon orange Kraft mac and cheese I usually have!  This tasted more like real cheddar cheese!  MMMMMMMM…

To be honest- I MAY or MAY NOT have the hungry horrors tonight!  I want to have a taste of everything I currently have in my cabinets!  Before I make a move I am going to narrow it down to ONE guilty pleasure that will completely satisfy my sweet tooth though.  You know what I am saying ladies 😉 ??

Well, gotta run, I think I hear some chocolate peanut butter ice cream calling my name!

Enjoy your evenings peeps!

~L


3 thoughts on “Skinny Bitches and Hungry Horrors

  1. I read Skinny Bitch and loved it. Personally- it was one of the deciding factors in my veganism. I was pretty much vegatrarian before- medical reasons, so the switch wasn’t that hard. I’ve lost 15lbs in the past month. Started training for a 5k. Become much more aware of what goes into my body. I totally reccomend the book to all of my friends.

    To be honest- meat wasnt hard to give up at all. The subs they have out now are really good. Dairy was the hardest for me- but, now I’m drinking almond milk, eating rice and soy cheeses, even tried rice ice cream – and I’ve been super impressed. And- since I’ve cut out all of the highly processed and refined foods- everything tastes better. Fruits are sweeter, veggies taste fresher, spices are more pronounced.

    Pretty powerful stuff.

    • It is definitely a powerful book. Like you, I am also trying to be aware of what goes into my body and am trying to cut out highly processed and refined foods, but I am really still exploring what my version of a “healthy lifestyle” is. I have yet to give soy/rice products a try. I am kinda scared of the texture of new foods!

      Is being a vegan tough when you are going out to dinner or eating at a friend’s house? Just being nosy 🙂

  2. Gardein brand (if you have a Publix nearby) is really awesome! Try the chick’n marinara. MY husband had NO clue it wasn’t chicken. Boca burger also put out some REALLY good chicken fakes. Burger subs are hit and miss. Right now I am in love with Smart Ground veggie protien crumbles. Its just like lean ground beef- and can be used the same.

    Its not bad- when I go to a restuarant, I do my research ahead of time- check out the menu online. It helps that we live in a metro area, so lots of options. And, there is always salad! And many restuarants have vegan options, or dishes that can be modified enough to be vegan. Which is what I would have eaten most likely before anyways… Friends houses are a little more difficult. Most of my friends know I’m a fairly hardcore vegan, and do their best to accomodate. The ones that don’t well, I just have a salad or bread… I am not about to ask anyone to change how they cook for me, but, they should expect the same when they come to my place for dinner. Its not as hard as I thought it would be. Def not anywhere near as hard as everyone told me it was going to be.

Leave a Reply

