A Food Funk and Long Legs

Hello?  Unseasonably warm and sunny weather?  WHERE HAVE YOU GONE? What a cold and gloomy Wednesday around Boston! When I left for the gym this morning the sky was a bright pink and purple, so pretty!  Having the sun coming up as I start my workout is a huge motivator in the morning (especially because I have felt tired at the beginning of each workout this week), but I don’t know where it went after 7 a.m.!

Breakfast this morning was Apple Pie Oatmeal, and instead of making it the night before and reheating it, I decided to wake up 20 minutes early to pop it in the oven.  It made a whole world of difference taste-wise when I ate it straight from the oven.  Again, prep time for this breakfast is 5 minutes, cook time 20.  That means you can be eating this deliciousness in under 30 minutes!  YOU HAVE GOT TO TRY THIS!

Apple Pie Oatmeal

(from healthytippingpoint.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 apple (I used Gala), chopped
  • 2 tablespoons whole wheat pancake mix
  • Sprinkle cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves
  • 2 tablespoons chopped pecans
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Place all but 1/3 chopped apple in microwaveable bowl and fill with water.  Microwave for 1.5 minutes.
  • Mix oatmeal, almond milk, microwaved apple, pancake mix, and spices and pour into mini casserole dish.
  • Top with reminding apple and pecans.
  • Bake for 20 minutes.
  • Remove from oven, add brown sugar, and broil at 500 degrees for 2 – 3 minutes.
  • Remove and enjoy!

A couple of things I did different with this oatmeal.  1) I didn’t overcook it the way I usually do so the texture of the oatmeal was much more appetizing,  it was much creamier.  2) I used vanilla almond milk and I couldn’t taste a difference from regular cow’s milk.   I ate a little less than half before the gym…and the other half at my desk with (you guessed it) a medium iced coffee.  No banana this morning for the first time in a looooonnng time!

I was up so much earlier than usual I was even able to switch up my lunch at the last-minute.  I usually only mention lunch if it is super new or very exciting and different (if I don’t mention, it wasn’t worth mentioning!).  Instead of the macaroni salad I prepared for the week I made a salad and cooked a chicken breast to chop up and put on top.

  • romaine lettuce
  • arugula
  • sliced pepperoncini peppers
  • diced cucumbers
  • Newman’s Own Light Balsamic vinaigrette
  • Breaded Chicken: Mix some non-flavored Greek yogurt with 1 tblsp honey, dip chicken, roll in breadcrumbs and bake at 375 until done

I finished off my lunch with some sliced seedless watermelon I bought at the store yesterday (and paid an arm and a leg for!).  Does anyone else get psyched to see their favorite fruits on sale and then get to the register and realize that even when on sale that it still costs you a small fortune? That was my surprise, when my 1/4 watermelon came to $5.01.  Haha, what a deal huh?  One thing I have been learning is that eating healthy can get kind of pricey!

Gym today was Day 2- Legs and ABS.  Today I added 10lbs on to my lunges and it gave my legs a nice little shock!  I could feel my quads working overdrive to even help me walk up the stairs in school!  Great feeling.

Some FUN FACTS about Legs:

  • There are many different types of activity that tones legs: dancing, running, skating, and lifting weights (source)
  • Toning your legs will increase leg strength, reduce back strain, enhance your posture, and improve circulation (source)
  • Svetlana Pankratova has the longest legs in the world at 132cm! (source) Those are some legs!

  • Let’s face it- NOTHING beats a nice pair of legs!

TIP: When creating a fitness plan focusing on your legs, be sure to incorporate different legs muscles in each exercise.  For example, my current plan has lunges for quads, squats for glutes (your butt!), deadlifts for hamstrings (back of your leg), calf raises for the obvious, and an adductor machine for inner thigh.

I was planning a possible run tonight, but then it started sprinkling so I took it upon myself to couch it instead.  Remember, if I run in the rain for any reason it would be Running Club, and when I do that I will be out of excuses.  It is scary to know that there is a possibility that only tornadoes and lightening may be my only excuses after becoming an official member.

Afternoon snack was a lemon Larabar (again, and it is the same photo from yesterday, sorry!)

What weather/time of day do you like running most?  What weather will keep you from heading out? I love late afternoon runs, around 4-5 p.m. when the sun is low in the sky and as of now won’t go out in any weather but sun….

Dinner tonight was going to be chicken, but I have been eating so much chicken that I can’t even bear the thought of cooking it tonight!  I put it in the freezer for next week.  Now the dilemma:  I either want pizza or I want something sweet for dinner, like Regina’s or Ihop! haha…in all seriousness this has been a crazy food week for me!  anything I had planned for the week hasn’t hit the spot and somewhere between Sunday night and Monday morning I developed a hallow leg!

I fear my indecisiveness might be due to a food rut.  You ever get in one of these? I get in these a lot because of the fact that I eat the same thing over and over and over and over again.  SO here is where you can help: what is a funky/new/different (but not too funky/new/different) dinner idea I could try? It can be meatless or meatfull,  home cooked or store-bought.  I need food help ASAP before I must resort to eating pizza morning, noon and night!

In the meantime I have found what can temporarily help me from getting deeper in this rut of mine (source):

  1. Make dinner a full course: soup or salad, entree, and light dessert
  2. Watch cooking shows and take notes about interesting recipes and techniques to try later (LOVE THIS IDEA!)
  3. Try something new, or a new take on an old recipe
  4. Start a weekly theme night: color based themes to ingredient based themes work!  Any other THEME based dinner ideas?

It is about that time to stop making excuses and start cooking some dinner.

Have a nice night!

~L

2 thoughts on “A Food Funk and Long Legs

  1. We were kind of getting into a food rut too and tried a new recipe last week. Stuffed butternut squash. De-seeded the squash and baked at 350 in a pyrex facing down in 1 in of water for 35 minutes. Meantime cooked traders joes wild rice medley, cup up small and sauteed peppers, onions and mushrooms, mixed the peppers, onions, mushrooms rice with craisins and FF ricotta, cooked 15 more minutes. 1/4 of it was a meal in itself soo good.

    Not sure if you are a big fish eater, we started doing fish one time per week. Baked haddock yum, i now buy the trader joes whole wheat crackers (they look like mini ritz) crush them up mix them with some better sprinkle on top and cook 12 minutes or until flaky.

    Another simple dish is paninis and trader joes low sodium tomato and roasted red pepper soup. For the panini i will put whatever i have on it, but i love a slice of swiss, some cutup artichokes, peppers onions, mushrooms and eggplant if i have it. I will often thrown the veggies on the griller first and then put them on trader joes high fiber bread. Oh add a little red pepper flakes and basil to the soup!!

    But lisa I am loving your blog…i wish i had it in me to start the routine you are in. Keep up the good work and great job on your first 5k. Its an amazing feeling, isn’t?

    • I am addicted to running! I love it! Thanks for the great ideas for food- I’ve never had squash, but I’d be willing to try it!

Leave a Reply

