Zucchini Ribbon Pasta and Fruity Oatmeal..YuM!

Well, I woke up this morning at 4:00ish (ok maybe more like hit the snooze until 4:20).  I am finding it harder and harder to get myself up Monday mornings for the gym! I talked to Amy about it this morning and she suspects that Mondays are hard because you are just coming off the weekend where your routine is different than during the week.  This is true for me, especially since I tend to wake up later on weekends and eat less frequent/ larger meals than during the week.  On weekends, I love to have a light breakfast when I wake up, lunch in the late afternoon, and then have a big dinner out.  As a result, I think I get a food hangover on Monday.

Gym today was Day 1 Chest and Triceps and ABS.  Oddly enough, I was done at like 6:40- I mean, done and washed up and changed, ready to go to school done.  I didn’t know what to do with myself!  I got my coffee and headed to school and was the second teacher there!

Day 1- Chest and Triceps

  1. Dumbbell Chest Press- 3 sets of 10-12 reps, with 20lbs.
  2. Incline Push-Up (on bar)- 3 sets of 10-12 with body weight.
  3. “Skull Crusher” for Triceps- 3 sets of 10 with 35lbs
  4. Triceps Pushdown-   3 sets f 10 with 60-70lbs

For breakfast today I tried a new baked oatmeal recipe inspired by the need to use up all my Pom Blueberry Pomegranate juice before it expires next week.

Blueberry Pomegranate Oatmeal

*          ½ cup rolled oats

*          ¼ cup Pom Blueberry Pomegranate Juice

*          ½ cup vanilla almond milk

*          2 squirts of Agave Nectar

*          2 tblsp whole wheat pancake mix

*          2 tblsp coconut

*          1 tblsp crushed pecans

*          1 tblsp flaxseed

*          Dash or two of cinnamon

Directions: Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and add almond milk and juice.  Pour into baking dish and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

This oatmeal was FANTASTIC.  It was very moist (not soupy) and had the texture of a soft baked cookie.  I mean, who doesn’t love the texture or soft baked cookies?  The aroma of the blueberry juice filled the entire apartment but didn’t overpower the taste of the oatmeal.  Mmmmm.  Is anyone else jumping on the breakfast bandwagon with me?  If so, please share your favorite recipes!

I ate half before the gym and the other half at my desk with a medium D.D Dark Roast light with skim milk.

TEACHER RANT ALERT!!! Today I had lunch duty (BOOOOOO).  Nothing ruins a Monday more than realizing you have to be up in the café for your 30 minute lunch.  It is really hard to eat while you are reminding kids to be seated and eat!  Not to mention the noise!  I am a firm believer teachers need their 30 minute lunch to clear their head, use the bathroom, and be around someone other than their students!  I do only get lunch duty once every three weeks and I only have one more left this school year, but I am still reserving the right to complain!

My after school snack was a Key Lime Pie Larabar.  This was a new flavor and, to be honest, I didn’t taste much lime, but it was delicious nonetheless.

Dinner tonight was a new recipe I found on Food Network.com.  I actually had all the ingredients on hand, which made me even more excited to try it!  The recipe as it is written below feeds 4 so I just cooked what I thought was enough for me.  I used a half pound of whole wheat pasta (way too much!) and 1 green zucchini.  I also adjusted the chicken stock and cheese according to how it looked to me.  The one thing I forgot- to half the amount of crushed red pepper.  I think I actually used 1 tablespoon.  It was hot!  Too hot! Ooops… 😉 I had to eat my portion with a side piece of sour dough bread.

Zucchini Ribbon Pasta (2008, Ellie Krieger, All rights reserved)

  • 3/4 pound whole-wheat fettuccine
  • 2 medium green zucchini (about 1 pound)
  • 2 medium yellow zucchini (about 1 pound)
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup grated (1-ounce) Parmesan (lightly packed), plus 2 tablespoons
  • 1/3 cup finely minced parsley leaves, plus more for garnish
  • 1 cup thinly sliced basil leaves, plus more for garnish
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
  • Salt

Directions

In a large pasta pot, cook pasta “al dente”, 1 or 2 minutes less than the package instructions call for. Drain.

Meanwhile, slice off ends of zucchini and discard. Cut zucchini in half lengthwise. Using a mandoline, or carefully with a sharp knife, slice zucchini into very thin (about 1/8-inch) slices, trying to keep some skin on each piece for color. Stack slices and cut in half lengthwise. Reserve zucchini ribbons in a large bowl.

I used a veggie peeler to make the zucchini ribbons!

In the pasta pot, heat the olive oil over low-medium heat. Add garlic and cook until soft and translucent but not browned, about 1 minute. Add zucchini ribbons and 1/4 cup chicken broth, raise heat to medium-high and cook until zucchini is still somewhat firm but just cooked, about 3 minutes. Return pasta to pot and add remaining chicken stock; cook for 2 to 3 minutes, until liquid has mostly absorbed into the pasta. Add 1/4 cup of the Parmesan, parsley, basil, red pepper flakes, black pepper and toss to combine. Season with salt, to taste. Serve garnished with additional parsley, basil and the remaining 2 tablespoons of cheese.

I also sipped a mock-tail made with cranberry-lime Seltzer water and a dash of Pom juice.


I even got to squeeze in a nap before I settled in for the night to post, watch TV, and catch up on a little bit of reading.  This month’s Rachel Ray magazine is a whole issue about grilling.  I am not too excited about that, as I have no grill, but I am interested in grilled desserts!  There are a lot of recipes that include grilled fruit, which sounds divine!  I think after reading I will have the urge to buy a grill pan and test some of the recipes out!

What a super productive day!  Tomorrow is Week 4 of Running Club!  Loves it!
~L
Leave a Reply

