Getting Ready to Run!

Happy Tuesday! I am thinking that I am in a cheery mood because I am looking forward to Week 5 of Running Club.  I am officially half way through the program after tonight!  Taking a break from the gym this week has been a good way to rest my body, but it has also helped me look forward to running because my body just wants to move and sweat!  I use running as a way to clear my mind and am finding that I can not WAIT to run tonight!  Tonight may be (dare I say) the first week it hasn’t actually rained on a Tuesday since I started! Woop Woop!

To catch up on all things Running Club, check out my weekly recaps:

Week 1- Shoes

Week 2- Stretching

Week 3- Breathing

Week 4- Injuries

I woke up this morning and made my French toast I was CRAVING after yesterday’s attempt at breakfast stuck to my pan.  The star of the show today was peanut butter!  I put a tablespoon on a paper dish and microwave it for 1 minute, and then I easily spread it on two pieces of whole wheat bread before I dipped it into the egg/almond milk/cinnamon batter.  Yum!

Old pic, I deleted my new pics before downloading them! Oops!

Long story short, I THOUGHT I downloaded my pics, I mean I plugged my camera in and hit ‘download’, then unplugged the camera, deleted the pics from it, and realized I didn’t click the ‘keep photos’ button.  Sooooo, no new pics from this morning/afternoon.  Sorry ;(

  • I had my french toast at my desk with a medium French vanilla iced coffee.
  • In anticipation of extremely hot temps (Boston could get up to around 90 today!) I packed a very light snack and lunch.
  • Snack today will be some fresh cherries I picked up at the Farmer’s Market on Saturday.
  • Lunch was a half cup of Stonyfield Non-fat Vanilla yogurt with fresh blueberries, raspberries, and dices strawberries.  I am also mixing in about a half cup of maple granola I got up in Vermont.  It is made by the company Woodstock Granola.  What I like most about this granola is that they use natural sweeteners and whole grain oats, and don’t add preservatives, artificial flavors, or trans fats.
  • I also packed a bag of popcorn and an apple for a mid-afternoon snack, but failed to take a picture because, as you may know, a 20 minute lunch break goes by in the blink of an eye.  Trust me, none of these foods I mentioned lasted very long 🙂

I stopped at the store on my way home and picked up some small groceries since I didn’t shop this week.  Dinner tonight is going to be a chicken caesar salad with cornbread.  Knowing myself, though, I will want a bowl of cereal after so the salad will end up my lunch!

I have been downing water (ok, ok, I had two glasses) and a half of a Kashi Pumpkin and Flaxseed granola bar (YUM!) and hopefully I will be ready to run in this sweltering heat.  Reacp and dinner pics to follow.

Get out there and do something!

~L

Leave a Reply

