Empty Bottles and Old School Jams

Now that it is the weekend I will waste no time thinking about the past week (which happened to feel like it would never end) and spend all my time looking forward to a sunny, warm, LONG weekend.  I don’t want to think about the three weeks left of school or any cleaning or recording keeping that I need to do when I return next week!  I want to focus on this long weekend- ESPECIALLY my race tomorrow!

My Friday seemed to slip right passed me!  Yesterday morning I made some Apple Pie Oatmeal for breakfast.  I added a little too much nutmeg and cinnamon though, as you can tell from the dark brown color.

Apple Pie Oatmeal:

  • ½ cup rolled oats
  • ½ cup vanilla almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons whole wheat pancake mix
  • 1 tablespoon apple butter
  • 1 tsp (NOT TABLESPOON) of both cinnamon and nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon crushed pecans
  • 1 apple diced

Preheat oven at 350.  Dice apple and place 2/3 in a mug filled with water.  Microwave for 90 seconds.  Drain water and add to bowl with other ingredients, then transfer to glass baking dish.  Top with remaining 1/3 apple.  Cook for 20 minutes.

I tried to eat as much as I could, which wasn’t very much, before the spicy flavor of the nutmeg made it too much to bear.  Luckily for me, we were having another school wide breakfast so I had a half of a cinnamon scone with a big bowl of fresh fruit.  This has been a week of adding new foods to my LOVE list: avocados and guacamole and kiwi.  How did I live 28 years without them?

Snack!

Have you fallen in love with a new food lately?  What made you try it? I have recently tried mango, kiwi, avocado, honey-dew melon, and cantaloupe.  Yum!  When I try new foods, I just kind of don’t think about texture/taste and try it, and usually end up liking it!

Last night I had Amy, Andrea, and Maureen over for a pasta dinner.  Amy, Maureen, and I are running a 5 mile race tomorrow so I wanted to do a little carb loading (and drink some wine).

To start us off, Amy brought a bottle of Ladybug White wine and some home-made brushetta that she prepped at home and assembled at my house.  She diced up tomatoes and mixed them with EVOO, garlic, and a bunch of spices.  She also cooked some sliced baguette drizzled with EVOO.  When she got to my place she topped each baguette with tomatoes, some freshly chopped basil leaves, and fresh sliced mozzarella cheese.

Then we baked it in the oven at 350 degrees until the cheese melted.

MMMMM, I am like a hundred of these babies.  They are so summer-y and refreshing.  I must make these myself sometime!

For dinner I baked some zucchini which I breaded with whole wheat breadcrumbs after dipping them in egg whites.  I baked them in the oven at 350 until super brown and crispy.  Using a meatloaf pan, I layered the baked zucchini with a lot of my home-made marinara sauce and shredded mozzarella cheese.

I served it with some Hodgson Mill whole wheat pasta and extra sauce.

A lot of wine accompanied the meal!

Maureen made dessert: BROWNIES! Her secret weapon in these:  a can of black beans (YES, black beans) drained and pureed until super smooth.  Then she just mixed them in with a box of brownie mix.  No egg, no oil!  She said they are 2 points per serving in Weight Watcher world.

While we ate dessert we You-Tubed some old school slow jams, fun!  I remembered going to Super Jam at the Garden when I was in 8th grade.  The big act that year was Coolio and I knew every single word to Gansta’s Paradise.  I actually still know all the words!  We also listened to:

  • Keith Sweat (Twisted and Nobody)
  • SWV (Weak)
  • Blackstreet (No Diggity)
  • New Edition
  • KC and Jo Jo
  • Dru Hill
  • Boys 2 Men

It was fun reminiscing because even though none of us knew each other in those middle school days- we still basically have the same memories, just from different schools!

What are your favorite old school jams??

Well the sun is shining and I am going to hit up the beach with the girls.  Low key day at the beach, making my playlist, early bed, and RACE day tomorrow!

Enjoy the sun!

~L

Leave a Reply

