Getting Ready to Race

I hope everyone enjoyed the sun yesterday!  I sure did!  Amy and I met Maureen at Long Beach in Nahant around 12.

It was partly sunny and warm.  Not too hot and not to breezy.  A comfortable beach day I would say.  The sun kept ducking behind the clouds but I managed to get some color, a little too much color maybe ;).

I packed my 2 books and 3 magazines, some fruit and water to keep me full and entertained while I got my tan on!  I didn’t get too much reading done because people watching got the best of me!

Hello there!

Well, I did get a tan/sunburn.  I always forget how much color you can get even when it is partly cloudy!  We only sat at the beach for a few hours too.  I actually didn’t realize HOW read I got until I got home and changed!  Ouch!

I stopped at Starbucks for a grande iced vanilla latte to sip on while I finalized my playlist for today’s 5 Mile race.

I based my playlist on the song “Airplanes” by B.O.B, which is my favorite song.  I have refused to listen to it so I’d be psyched to hear it when I heard it today.  I actually avoided many songs on the list for that reason- I wanted my music to be fresh and new to me! I didn’t get the BPM (beats per minute) for each song but they are generally around 86-150 BPM, which I feel is a good pace for Amy, Maureen, and I.  I hope they like it as much as me!

Haverhill 5-Miler Playlist:

  • Human   The Killers
  • If We Ever Meet Again (feat. Katy Perry)        Timbaland
  • Spotlight      Jennifer Hudson
  • Winner (feat. Justin Timberlake & T.I.)  Jamie Foxx
  • Forever      Chris Brown
  • Baby      Justin Bieber & Ludacris
  • Break Your Heart (feat. Ludacris)       Taio Cruz
  • Beautiful        Akon, Colby O’Donis
  • Airplanes (feat. Hayley Williams of Paramore)    B.o.B
  • Insomnia          Craig David
  • Perfect Gentleman       Wyclef Jean
  • Not Afraid      Eminem
  • OMG (feat. will.i.am)    Usher
  • Put It In a Love Song (feat. Beyoncé Knowles)   Alicia Keys
  • Rock That Body      Black Eyed Peas
  • Say Aah (feat. Fabolous)        Trey Songz
  • ‘Till I Collapse         Eminem & Nate Dogg
  • Try Sleeping With a Broken Heart        Alicia Keys
  • Young Forever   Jay-Z Feat. Mr Hudson
  • Read My Mind   The Killers
This playlist is a perfect combination of my favorite old running songs and new ones. I organized them, not slowest to fastest, but by trying to picture when I’d be most pumped to hear that particular song.  I wanted the beginning to be more background music as opposed to one of my favorites because, as I remember from the Melrose Race, I didn’t really pay attention to the music at the beginning.  The playlist is 1.3 hours so that should be plenty of music to get me through the 5 miles!
Dinner last night was Reginas Pizza with Jack 🙂  I was so hungry and kind of grumpy when we were trying to decide where to eat.  When I suggested Reginas and he agreed I was so happy!  I heart pizza a lot! At this point it god dark and gray outside…
I started with a garden salad and ranch dressing.  I use the dip-fork-in-dressing then some salad method when eating my salad because I always use way too much dressing.
For pizza I got a specialty pizza (FANCY, I know!).  I don’t remember the exact name BUT it has 4 cheeses including mozzarella and ricotta and marinated diced tomatoes.  Mmmmm.  I had two slices and I was full to the brim!
I went to bed between 10 and 11 last night after catching up on the past few weeks of the Real Housewives of NYC- wow, those ladies really bring the drama!  I had a great sleep and was up at 7. I made some Pomegranate oatmeal for a pre-race breakfast:
Pomegranate Oatmeal:
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/4 cup Pom Pomegranate juice
  • dash or two of cinnamon
  • 2 tblsp whole wheat pancake mix
  • 1 tblsp crushed pecans
  • 1 tblsp shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 350, mix all ingredients, cook for 20-30 minutes.  Filling and delicious!

The ladies are heading to my place so we can drive up together.  We have to find Haverhill, then find parking, then get our race numbers. EXCITING!  The forecast for today in Haverhill, MA is 86 degrees and partly cloudy.  The 5 mile race route is a loop right along the scenic Merrimack River so I am hoping it is a little cooler along the water!  There is a cookout and “adult beverages” after the race so may be more excited to finish for that reason, but whatever gets you through, right? 😉
And I am off!  Wish me luck!
~L
Leave a Reply

