Catching up and Getting Back into Routine

Welcome back to reality!  How was everyone’s unofficial start to summer this weekend? I had one of THE BEST weekends I have had in a long time.  I had plenty of girl time, me time, and Jack time!

In case you are catching up on weekend posts:

Yesterday Jack and I headed to a cookout with a few of his friends and their families.  We had hot dogs, hamburgers, sausages, steak tips, macaroni salad, potato salad, and chips.  I ate a hot dog and some macaroni salad but I didn’t take any pics.  I kinda feel like a complete weirdo whipping out my camera to take pics of food in front of people who don’t know about my blog (especially when I am around a group of new people).  Does that make sense??

After lunch the ladies decided it was wine time- but the problem was that we had NO WINE!  It took us driving past three closed liquor stores and getting turned away from two White Hens to come to terms with the fact that alcohol can not be sold in Massachusetts on holidays. BOOOOOOOOOOO!!  In the end we found a friend, who was still on vacation, but gave us her house code so we could take the wine she had in the house!   I had three-ish glasses throughout the evening/night.  I love crisp white wine on a sunny day!  Good food, good wine, great company!

This morning was not easy getting up.  This weekend I spent so much time in the sun and outdoors that the thought of being in my humid classroom was so unappealing!  Around 3 a.m. my skylight was pelted with huge, heavy raindrops as lightning lit up the sky, so that didn’t really allow me to sleep well!

Breakfast was peanut butter french toast.  This has really turned into one of my favorite breakfasts!

with sugar free syrup...mmmm

For snacks today I loaded up my fancy Shaw’s plastic lunch bag (I literally carry my lunch in a plastic bag 🙂 ) with a ton of fruit:

Banana with Breakfast (do yours turn a funky brown on the outside when you put them in the fridge??

some red, seedless grapes for snack!

and sweet, fresh cherries!

Well, the sun shone straight through the day.  Its rays were taunting me as I was working on autobiographies with the kids.  We were all sweaty and cranky.  It was even too hot and sunny to go out to recess.  Of course, by the time the bell rang at 2:40 the sky grew dark, and then BAM, thunderstorms!  I am glad I kept my windows shut because the rain was pouring down in a steady stream!  I so conveniently left my umbrella in the trunk of my car, parked on the opposite side of the parking lot, so I tried to wait it out.  In the end I rolled up my pants and sprinted to my car.

gloomy

RUNNING CLUB:

Tonight I have Week 6 of the Running Club.  I can’t believe we are almost at our graduation run!  I am meeting some really great people and they are all so supportive and encouraging! We will all (hopefully) be doing a local 5k together the first week of July, and I hope they will all be joining the Club as official members like me!  If you are interested in running, or are a runner already, I strongly encourage you to join a club!

For me my current running goals are to continue running three times a week for enjoyment.  After the Harpoon Race this Saturday I think I will hold off on doing any races over 3.5 miles for a bit.  I feel like I do not enjoying running the 5 mile distance just yet, and I want to ENJOY running!  As I see it the 3.5 miles presents me with a challenge enough for now, and when it isn’t challenging anymore then I can reevaluate my goals.

I am also returning to the gym tomorrow morning with Amy to do Day 3 Weights- Back and Abs.

Day 3- Back Day

  • Bent-Over Barbell Row- 3 sets, 6-8 reps, 45lbs
  • Wide-grip lat pulldown- 3 sets, 10-12 reps, 60lbs
  • Reverse-grip lat pulldown- 3 sets, 10-12 reps, 60-70lbs
  • Machine Cable Row, neutral grip- 3 sets, 12-15, 70lbs

Since we have started doing morning gym, then took last week off, and I had no school yesterday I am officially off my regular workout routine.  I couldn’t even want to go to the gym in the afternoon after school!

I am picking up with Amy where she is in her weight cycle.  I skipped LEG DAY basically because running 5 miles was REALLY HARD Sunday and that was after taking a week off from the gym. I do not want to be running another 5 miles with sore legs!  That wouldn’t be smart!

To be honest, it is kind of hard to get back into it.  Amy made a good point when I told her I wouldn’t be gymming it today: that I need to just go back and get that first time back over with.  It is just as easy to fall out of a routine as it is to be in one.   So tomorrow I will be up at 4 to cook some oatmeal and gym it hardcore.  It is great to have such an honest Gym Buddy!

When you have found yourself falling out of a routine, how do you get yourself back on track???

Be back later with a Week 6 Running Club recap!

~L

Leave a Reply

