Weight Dropping

FRIDAY where are you? I guess the good news is that Wednesday is basically over, or at least to me it is since I am home getting ready to cook myself some dinner!  Tonight I decided to make Chicken Piccatta spur of the moment.  It is a very simple recipe  because I usually have all the ingredients on hand.  It also doesn’t hurt that it is full of lemon-y goodness.  I LOVE the taste of lemon in my food very much 🙂

Chicken Piccatta

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • salt, pepper, basil to coat chicken
  • whole wheat flour to dredge chicken
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • the zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 tblsp parmesan cheese
  • 3 tblsps plus 1 tblsp EVOO

DIRECTIONS:

Add 3 tblsps EVOO to frying pan and preheat

Coat chicken breasts with salt, pepper, and basil to taste (both sides), then cover with whole wheat flour

Cook chicken until brown, but not burned and remove from pan.  Set aside.


Add cheese, chicken broth, lemon zest, and lemon juice to pan.  Simmer for 10 minutes.

Place chicken in simmering sauce for 10 minutes.

Place over pasta or mashed potatoes.

Serve with a nice glass of Fish Eye Pinot Grigio

Well, to back track a little, I woke up this morning at 4:20 and couldn’t believe it was already time to get up.  I mean, each hour seemed to last years all day yesterday but the 6 or so hours I actually slept felt like they were seconds long.

I made myself a whole wheat English muffin and topped it with Trader Joe’s salted organic peanut butter and raspberry jam.  It was very filling and kept me energized through Day 2- Legs and ABS this morning.  I also ate is 15 minutes earlier than I normally have eaten my breakfast so maybe that gave the food enough time to digest for my workout energy?

It has been two whole weeks since I have done legs becasue I avoided tiring them out before both 5- Mile races.  I definitely gave them a good workout and will be sore tomorrow!

I modified my Day 2 legs because I really didn’t feel like doing lunges with the Smith machine.

  1. Walking Lunges- 3 sets of 10 to 12 with 12lbs in each hand.
  2. Incline Squat Machine (butt)- 3 sets of 8-15: Set 1- 50lbs, Set 2- 100lbs, Set 3 120lbs
  3. Deadlifts (hamstrings)- 3 sets of 15, using two 20lb dumbells
  4. Calf Raise (calves)- 3 sets of 10ish, 90lbs (the example is a standing calf raise, we do a seated calf raise, but they both work!)
  5. Adductor Machine (inner thigh)- Set 1- 20reps, 70lbs   Set 2 and 3- 8 to 15 reps, 75lbs

While at the gym, I managed to drop a 35lb weight on my pointer finger on my left hand.  OUCH! You see, Amy and Maureen were discussing the latest Glee episode (which I don’t even watch) and I got so caught up in the convo that I accidentally got my finger stuck under the weight.  Yesterday I talked about how I can’t take pics and run at the sam time, apparently I shouldn’t try to walk and chew gun at the same time either…

The pic makes it look a lot worse than it actually is.  I iced it all day and can bend it without any pain so I think once the swelling goes down I will be fine!  Until then my handwriting will be messier and my typing will be slower because I am a lefty!  Left On, left on!

After the gym I headed to school where we had a breakfast to honor all the recent graduates.  We had fresh bagels and juice and cake!  I love getting together with all my colleagues and it seems like the end of this school year every time I look around we are having a staff lunch or breakfast.  It is great to laugh and catch up with everyone because at times the only people I socialize with are my 10-year-old fourth graders!

That means that in my classroom I am usually forced to amuse myself.  It is kind of weird having the power to control the atmosphere of a room.  I can let them talk or make them sit quietly, work individually or in groups,  make them laugh or cry 🙂  I am not one, fortunately, to take advantage of this power, unless of course, I have the chance to joke with the kids and have it go right over their heads.  You see, my favorite part of today was when I needed to get some kids to “do the right thing”.  Sometimes these things just spill out of my mouth and make it hard to keep a straight face!

  • When I collected the fourth paper in a row with just their first names written on them I said “Unless you are Cher or Madonna you need to have your first and last name on your paper”.  Repsonse? Blank stares.
  • When I was wondering what was taking them so long in the bathroom and peeked in to find them dancing at the sink I said “This isn’t Studio 54, wash you hands and get in line”  Response? Blank stares.
  • When I observed a boy running up the stairs and rolling on the landing when he reached the second floor I yelled “Who do you think you are, James Bond?”  Response?  He laughed in my face, not because I am funny but because he thinks I am crazy.  Hey, that response is better than no response!

Well, there are only 7 more days of the fun that is the school year of 2009-2010.  It has been the longest but fastest year ever!

For now I am going to focus on beginning the second reading of Kelly Cutrone’s book “If You Have to Cry Go Outside, and other things your mother never told you”.  It is a very thought-provoking book and has me really thinking about the reason why I feel the way I do about things in life.  I am reading it a second time so I can really get a handle on my thoughts to share with y’all at a later point!

Have you read any good books lately?

And may I be the first to wish you a HAPPY THURSDAY!

~L

Leave a Reply

