Amazing Oats

Today’s breakfast was AMAZING! I have kind of gotten bored with my normal oatmeal and decided when I was in the shower I wanted to try my oatmeal with banana in it today.  Just like with the french toast, I eat my oatmeal with a banana so why not make the two into one gloriously delicious breakfast?  I also no longer love my oatmeal dry so I wanted to try it a little creamier too.  I read lots of different blogs and oatmeal is the star of many blogger breakfasts.  Here is why:

AMAZING oatmeal:

  • it keeps you sustained longer because it is full of fiber, causing your digestive system to work harder to break it down.
  • it helps moderate blood sugar levels which helps prevent blood sugar highs and lows (mood swings anyone?)
  • was recognized by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a food that is a medical benefit to human health because of the high levels of plant fiber it contains

(Source)

Banana Bread Oatmeal (adapted from healthytippingpoint)

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tblsp each of sliced almonds and crushed pecans
  • 1 tblsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 banana thinly sliced
  • 1 tblsp brown sugar

Directions:  Mix all ingredients, except brown sugar, and pour into a greased pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.  Sprinkle brown sugar and bake an additional 5 minutes.  Serve hot.

Making breakfast in the morning is sometimes what motivates me to get out of bed. Since I have started eating a healthy breakfast of protein and complex carbs I have found that I am constantly thinking of recipes that would be good to try in the morning.  Unfortunately I don’t have the culinary skills just add a little of this and a little of that and have it result in a tasty meal.  That is why I pick one main ingredient and find all the possible flavor combinations I may like in it and go from there.

What are some of your favorite food combinations?

My tops: peanut butter/chocolate, chocolate/salt, tomato/mozzarella/basil, and  lime/raspberry.

5th grade Luau tonight.

Aloha,

~L

Leave a Reply

