There is wine at the end of every Rainbow

HAPPY SATURDAY! This time next week I will be on summer vacation so it doesn’t get much better than this!  This summer I am actually teaching summer school but it is a half day program so I will get out at 1 everyday….

So Thursday night I had every intention of heading to the annual 5th grade luau.  It is always so fun seeing the kids dressed up and dancing, but my eyelids were heavy and my body was tired.  No matter how much I wanted to move off the couch I just couldn’t.  Instead I decided to stay home and make myself some dinner.

While I was deciding on what to eat I munched on some Tostios and Trader Joe’s peach salsa.  The peach salsa was suggested to me my a Trader Joe’s employee when I was standing in the chip aisle with no idea what to buy.  He actually suggested marinating my chicken in it, but Tositos work just fine for me!

The salsa was very smooth and virtually chunkless which is just the way I like it.  At first bite, the peach taste was very..ummmm..weird?  It tasted a little sweet but I couldn’t quit say “peach”.  A few bites later I decided I did like it.  It doesn’t taste like “regular” salsa at all and it isn’t spicy.  I like spicy.  Oh, and I think it would be delicious on chicken.

Dinner was buffalo chicken pizza. I had marinated my extra piece of chicken from my Piccatta in a mix of teriyaki sauce and buffalo sauce over night and cooked it at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.  Then I chopped it up and put on top of whole wheat pizza dough.

Then I topped with my home-made spaghetti sauce, a slice of pepper jack cheese, and a handful of shredded mozzarella cheese.

Bake at 425 until pizza is crispy (because I like my pizza crispy!).

It was fantastic but the dough was a little weird.  It was Trader Joe’s brand whole wheat and it maybe was old?  maybe I didn’t stretch it enough?  used too much flour?  IDK, but it was my first attempt at a non-frozen pizza made at home-made pizza.  I am going to add learning how to make home-made pizza dough to my list of cooking things I want to learn.

Anyone have a whole-wheat dough recipe and want to teach me????

______________________________________________________

Friday morning I woke up to head to the gym at 4:15 am.  I was tired!

Breakfast was regular-old-french toast.  Coffee was iced from Starbucks.  It was “french vanilla” but their french vanilla is made with a mix of hazelnut and vanilla syrup.  My coffee tasted very syrupy and sugary.  I drank the whole thing but probs won’t be ordering it again!

Gym yesterday was Day 3- Back and ABS. We decided on Day 3 because it is a quick workout and we spent so much time dilly-dallying before we got started with our ABS that we didn’t start weights until 6:10.  It wasn’t non-productive dilly-dallying, we just took our time more than we usually do to get them done.

Day 3- Back:

  • Bent-Over Barbell Row- 3 sets, 6-8 reps, 50lbs
  • Wide-grip lat pulldown- 3 sets, 10-12 reps, 50lbs
  • Reverse-grip lat pulldown- 3 sets, 10-12 reps, 60-70lbs
  • Machine Cable Row, neutral grip- 3 sets, 12-15, 80lbs

My Friday felt so long already by the time I got to school (but didn’t the whole week seem that long?)!  The hours of the rest of the day dragged by and after school, per suggestion of the school nurse, I went to the E.R. to get my finger checked out.  As you may remember, I dropped a 35lb weight on my finger Wednesday morning.  It is not sore but it is swollen and bruised, a little crooked, and UGLY!

I dropped the weight right between my middle knuckle and upper knuckle (medically I am sure they have scientific names) so she thought I could’ve chipped/fractured the bone in between the knuckles.

Well, after almost 3 hours in the E.R. I found out it isn’t broken or anything.  Just ugly 🙂  But they gave me a stupid little splint to wear which makes my finger itchy, so I think I can function without it.

I headed over my friend Andrea’s house for some much-needed wine and pizza.  If you are curious, I do not feel guilty with my love for pizza 🙂 and though I wish I had another go-to food so I could at least have another go-to option.

Anyway, Andrea lives in a fancy condo community in Wakefield.  She even has a back deck that overlooks a pond and a bunch of trees.  I have deck envy! I would love an outdoor space to grill and eat and read on.

Ahhh,  there is wine (and pizza) at the end of every rainbow 🙂 or at least that is what Jack tells me!

I didn’t stay too long, just enough time to relax and catch up.  I was home and in bed by 10?!

I have a very busy/active day today:running club, gym, hair cut, and yoga with the ladies 🙂   But it seems like the perfect way to spend my Saturday

Lata

~L

Leave a Reply

