A little bit of this, a little bit of that

Saturday morning I woke up to meet Running Club for an interval run at 8 a.m.  It ended up being just Amy, myself, and one other runner.  Where has all the enthusiasm gone from the first few weeks?  Less than half the people are showing up on Tuesday nights and no one comes on Saturday mornings.

It was a great morning for a run- sunny, slightly warm, but breezy.  We did the walk 1/run 9 intervals 4 times while doing the route.  For the hill I remembered the tips from Tuesday– smaller steps and keep the pace.  It worked pretty well, my shin wasn’t hurting and I wasn’t a million percent out of breath like I usually am when I try that hill.

Post run I munched on a Blueberry Crisp Clif Bar.  It tasted so naturally sweet, like real blueberries.  It was delicious.

I met Amy at BSC around 10 for Day 4 weights- Shoulders/Biceps.  I have skipped this day of weights for about three weeks now, and I think that was the perfect amount of time to bring this routine back to newer/exciting.  Biceps are hard for me, especially when I can’t completely grasp the weight with my left hand because of my finger.  I love doing shoulders though.  I like the burn!

Day 4- Shoulders/Biceps

  1. Dumbbell Arnold Presses (shoulders)-  3 sets of 12, 12lbs
  2. Bicep Curls with back/arms against wall– 3 sets of 10, 12.5lbs
  3. Barbell Upright Row– 3 sets of 12, 40lbs
  4. Outward Biceps Curls- 3 sets of 10, 12.5lbs

My gym is in the perfect location for this mornings’ plans:  gym, coffee, haircut!

After the gym I went across the parking lot to Starbucks for an iced coffee.  Today I tried it with a squirt of sugar-free vanilla flavoring.  Yum!  It’s a keeper for sure!

My appointment for my haircut was at 11:15 and I timed my gym and coffee perfectly!

I get my hair done at the James Joseph Studio in Wellington Circle (they also have a studio on Newbury Street in Boston).

The inside of the studio is cool.  There is a place for clients to sit while waiting for their stylist that has a wide variety of magazines.  The best thing about these magazines is that they are current: this week’s US Weekly and People, as well as Marie Claire, Self, and many others.  I was also offered coffee, tea, and water.  Since I had a coffee I flipped through a magazine, sipped, my coffee, and enjoyed the music in the Studio (which I believe is a Pandora station).

The Studio is always busy on the Saturday’s I get my haircut but I have never had to wait.  If my appointment is at 11:15 that is when I am taken, I love not having to wait!  First I got my hair washed by Angelina.  My goodness, she massaged my head while shampooing and I thought I had died and gone to heaven.  I think I may have almost fallen asleep because it immediately relaxed me, Ah-Mazing!

I have been getting my haircut by Shannon for over a year?  Maybe?  Well, for as long as I can remember now!  Shannon is awesome.  We have tried layers, we have tried side swept- bangs, shorter layers, and shorter bangs, when even tried blonde highlights and died them back a few weeks later!  I am pretty much a chicken when I get my hair done because I am always scared I will hate it and she is very good with not trying to force me into something I don’t want!

I went a little shorter than usual this time.  I can’t really tell if I like it or if I feel like a soccer mom.  Good news is that hair grows (mine grows fast) so I only have to give it a week and it will start getting some length to it.  When my wavy hair is short it is very high maintenance because I have to blow-dry/straighten it everyday.

If you’re interested in giving James Joseph Studio a shot you can choose from a bunch of different stylists- each one is unique and has different specialties.  If you call and book an appointment in Medford and mention I referred you, we BOTH get 20% off our appointments.  What a deal!

After the haircut I was supposed to go to City Square in Charlestown to do some outdoor Yoga with Charlestown Yoga Studio.  I was pretty excited about this because I have never done Yoga outside, and I haven’t been to a Yoga class in a long time.  Since November I think.

Well, long story short: it rained!  Class wasn’t canceled, but the whole appeal of this yoga class to me was that it was outside!  I paid the $16 drop in class fee and the I was going to have to do the class inside.  I can do yoga inside at my gym for free so I cancelled my reservation and decided I would give it a shot on a sunny Saturday instead.

INSTEAD of yoga Maureen, Amy, and I headed in to channel 7’s free Health and Fitness Expo.  It was free and I was hoping to get some good information on exercising and healthy eating.  Unfortunately all it was was a million people out to get free samples.  Vendors there were ranged from P90X and a Zumba demonstration to Celcius (a calorie burning drink) and Carolina Rice company (you should have seen the like for a tiny sample).

They had some fitness demonstrations but the lines were so long!  We left and this is how I spent the rest of my Saturday:

Lunch/Beer at Solas in the Lenox Hotel

listened to a little World Cup action...

some crunchy nachos with melted cheese, jalapenos...

guacamole....

and chunky salsa that I liked!

Then I met up with Jack, and since I was still hungry we went to Regina’s for some food and wine for me 🙂  I didn’t get pizza though!  Shocking I know!

2 glasses Four Vines Zinfandel

toasted raviolis

mozzarella Caprese

garden salad with ranch dressing

As you can tell, I ate a majority of my food for the day in the last half of the day.  I really need to get a better handle for planning meals for busy days, but for yesterday, this worked very well for me.

Today is the Bunker Hill Day parade and Jack is walking in it 🙂  He looks so handsome all dressed up and waving and shaking hands with people!

See ya,

L

Leave a Reply

