Bunker Hill Day

Hello, my friends, and welcome to the last Monday of the 2009-2010 school year.  I woke up this morning feeling like a kid would feel a few days before Christmas.  It is a surreal feeling to know it is the end of the school year.  How did this happen?  Well, however it happened, I will take it!

Yesterday I spent the day with Jack and his family to celebrate Bunker Hill Day (which is officially June 17).  For those of you who aren’t familiar, Bunker Hill Day is a holiday in Boston which celebrates the anniversary of the Battle of Bunker Hill (which was really fought on Breed’s Hill) during the American Revolution.  Actually, for those in the mood for a little history lesson…

Dorky but cute right??  Anyway, every year they have a parade to celebrate.  It is a BIG FREAKIN’ DEAL in Charlestown!

I started the morning with breakfast at Jack’s parents house.  I had a hot tea and a bagel with a few piece of bacon.  I can’t tell you the last time I had a bagel with butter and it was delicious!

After breakfast we headed to the corner of their street to watch Jack run up Bunker Hill Street during the 8k road race.  I decided not to run because I didn’t see the need to run 3 5-mile races three weekends in a row!  The Bunker Hill road race is really tough to- you have to run up Bunker Hill Street which is a huge hill!

Jack looked like a super-star coming up it thought!

and in true Jack fashion, stopped to pose for pictures half-way up the hill 🙂

His mom and I headed to his grandmother’s house after that.  His dad’s band was set up in the backyard and there were a few tables and tons of chairs for the post-parade party!  I sipped on a few Bud Light’s before we headed up to the parade.

When I was younger I used to watch the parade with my family and cousins.  We would watch the parade, con our parents into buying us a ton of junk food and toys, and then put on our own parade when the real one was over.  I am not sure what my appeal was for the blow-up animals and snaps, but it is still pretty appealing to kids.

The parade this year was the best ever.  There were dance groups, belly dancers, tons of bands, and bag pipes. Lots of bag pipes!  Oh, and not to forget that Jack walked in it!  He looks so handsome in a shirt and tie.  (I had a pic but I think I ended up with this wonderful picture of my finger instead, ooops!)

After we all headed back to the house to eat, drink, and hang out.  The food was from Farmland in Wakefield and it was fantastic.  There was ziti and meatballs as well as eggplant and chicken parm, pizza, salad, and chicken brocoli and ziti.

I had a plate of eggplant parm and chicken/broc/ziti.  I also had a huge salad.

After I finished eating, I went to the yard to enjoy the band!  They play every year.  Jack’s dad plays the harmonica, man is he good!

I went home around 7 so Jack could watch the Celtics and I could go to bed.   I decided pretty early on in the day that I wasn’t going to gym it this morning because 4 a.m. is not appealing after parade day!  The gym for me right now is all about finding balance.  I want to enjoy all the fit parts of my life so if that means not making it one morning, that’s OK with me 🙂

Tonight I headed to Spinelli’s for a union meeting (and dinner and drinks too!).  I was going to go for a run after but it started raining. Booo!

I had one glass of Cabernet while I munched on some fruit, bread sticks, and peperoncini peppers.

Dinner was roasted potatoes, lemon chicken and a roll.  Yum!

Well- I am gymming it tomorrow morning and have Running Club (week 8!) tomorrow night.  I also have a going away party for a couple coworkers at a new Mexican restaurant tomorrow afternoon!

Busy days always fly by!

Night!

~L

Leave a Reply

