La Siesta

Hello all! Yesterday was another busy day (for everyone I am sure).  One thing I am glad about is that this week is going by way faster than last, and with only 2 hours and 45 minutes left in this school year, I am in a pretty darn good mood 🙂

Yesterday I woke up and hit the gym with Amy to do Day 2 weights.  I am getting bored with the current weight routine but our Leg Day continues to kick my little behind.  Today I woke up sore in places of my legs/butt that I didn’t even know could get sore!  What a great feeling.  I alternated in the Smith Lunges, which I haven’t done for a few weeks, and also added in an upper-butt/lower back exercise.

  1. Alternating Smith Lunges- 3 sets of 10 to 12 with 50lbs.
  2. Incline Squat Machine (butt)- 3 sets of 8-15: Set 1- 50lbs, Set 2- 100lbs, Set 3 120lbs
  3. Deadlifts (hamstrings)- 3 sets of 15, using two 20lb dumbells
  4. Calf Raise (calves)- 3 sets of 10ish, 90lbs (the example is a standing calf raise, we do a seated calf raise, but they both work!)
  5. Adductor Machine (inner thigh)- Set 1- 20reps, 70lbs   Set 2 and 3- 8 to 15 reps, 75lbs

I did a quick 3 mile run after school and enjoyed zoning out and listening to my music. I enjoy running with people and chatting just as much as I enjoy going for a run alone.  Yesterday’s run gave me lots of thinking time.  I organized the last little bit I needed to do to wrap up the school year and thought about how I will spend the summer.  Eventually, and only momentarily, my mind went blank and I was just running.  It was so cool to just zone out, even if only for a few minutes!

I did not make it to running club last night because I had a very special party to attend:  two of my coworkers that I have worked with for the 6 years I have been at the McKinley are moving on to positions in other buildings.  To honor them we all go together at a new Mexican restaurant in Winthrop called La Siesta.

Right away I knew I loved the place.  The main reason was that it didn’t smell like food (which means I didn’t end up smelling like food when I left!)

Some walls were brick and others were a warm yellow color with lots of colorful tiles plates, and bowls adorning the walls.  The lighting was dim and inviting and made the restaurant feel cozy.  I love the atmosphere dim lighting creates in a restaurant.  We had a separate room that had three long tables that sat 12 people each.

I had two Ultimate margaritas throughout the night!

There were several appetizers served to us over the course of the night: chicken quesidillas, crab cakes, hot wings, nachos, and chips/salsa.  I ate a little bit of everything (but the crab cakes) and got pretty full!  Dessert was an amazing cake made by a friend of a friend: Cakes By Sandra.  It was in the shape of a math book and looked like it came from the show Ace of Cakes on Food Network.  Doesn’t it look too perfect to eat?  Well,  I did have a piece.  It was chocolate and yummy!

One of the ladies leaving, Bianca, is an irreplaceable part of what I like to call “The Fourth Grade Dream Team”. We had an amazing year (Bianca, Cindy, and I) working out a new reading initiative together.  We all brought our individual creativity to the table and planned some kick-ass center activities.  Our kids were really lucky to have us this year!

The Dream Team: Bianca Cindy Meeee

I drove home in time to watch the sun setting along Revere Beach.  The sky was pink and orange.  It was pretty!

Today I woke up to gym-it at 4:30.  I made myself some Banana Bread Oatmeal, which came out amazing as usual!

I also had a Starbucks, Venti Iced coffee with sugar-free vanilla syrup and skim milk.  It is my new obsession!

Gym was Day 3- Back and ABS.  It is the quickest weight day, but my back is already feeling tired and sore!

Day 3- Back:

  • Bent-Over Barbell Row- 3 sets, 6-8 reps, 50lbs
  • Wide-grip lat pulldown- 3 sets, 10-12 reps, 50lbs
  • Reverse-grip lat pulldown- 3 sets, 10-12 reps, 60-70lbs
  • Machine Cable Row, neutral grip- 3 sets, 12-15, 80lbs

Well, tomorrow is the LAST DAY OF SCHOOL!  I told my kids my big secret today: I am switching grade levels and will be teaching Grade 5 math, which means I will have them again next year (and I am pretty excited about the change!).  Only one child seemed genuinely upset that he was going to have me AGAIN 🙂  I take no offense to that at all!

I also have the handouts from last night’s running club and will get them read and posted tomorrow!

Until then-

~L

Leave a Reply

