New Day 2- Ouch!

Happy Hump day everyone!  You wouldn’t believe how much I have got done in the short time I have been awake, and after this post I am snoozing-hardcore!

Well- to start- I woke up late this morning. Really late!  Like when I was supposed to be on my way to the gym I was just rolling out of bed!

I jumped in a the shower and dressed quick and made it to BSC just before 6.  So I was a half an hour late for our gym date this morning Amy- sorry! 🙂

Luckily- I both packed and made breakfast last night so I was ready to go this morning.  I have really been dragging my feet with getting ready the night before so it was like the Universe was telling me to sleep in a few extra minutes (or an hour) longer today!

Let me share my food with you- because so far today I have had some delicious eats:

Breakfast was a new recipe I took from Tina at Carrots ‘N’ Cake. She has awesome recipes but I have been dying to try her over-night oats.  You mix all ingredients the night before and in the morning you have yourself a tasty-cold-oatmeal concoction.  I used her measurements for the liquids and oats but chose my own mix-ins!

Overnight Oats

Adapted from: Carrotsncake.com

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • crushed pecans
  • cinnamon
  • dried cherries
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter (added prior to eating)

Mix all of the above and refrigerate overnight!  It is just enough time for the oats to absorb all the liquid and flavors.


I wasn’t sure if I’d like cold oatmeal, but I do!  This is a must try!

For snack I had some strawberries that I bought for $1 at the Farm Stand last week with a diced peach!  MMMMM, perectly summer!

Lunch was Panera Bread with the ladies.  I was so excited to eat there because I had almost completely forgot about the amazingness that is their new Tomato-Fresh Mozz-Basil salad. I had tried it a few weeks ago and was definitely ready to enjoy it again!

This one had larger chunks of tomatoes and cucumbers than my first salad, and had way more lettuce too!  Add the balsamic vinaigrette dressing and you have my seal of approval.

But as it turns out- it is loaded with calories, 770 to be exact- WOWZAS!  That is a lot for a salad, I think at least!  Fortunately, 340 of those calories come from croutons which can easily be left off, leaving the salad at 440 calories or so.

I also had some french onion soup!

My workout was so hard today!  As I said before we are using a routine we found in the May/June issue of Fitness RX magazine.  It introduced drop sets to me and after today’s workout- I have decided I hate them!  They hurt so much!  But the results will be amazing and I am glad my workout has been switched up.

Today was new Day 2- Shoulders and Back.

  1. Shoulder Press– Drops sets, 10 of each weight (15lb, 12.5lb, 10lb), 4 sets
  2. Dumb Bell Rear Row– 10 reps with 25lbs, alternating arms, 4 sets
  3. Upright Row– Drop sets, 10 of each weight (15lb, 12.5lb, 10lb), 4 sets
  4. one more shoulder exercise that was hard but I can’t remember- STAY TUNED!

It was hard and left my arms feeling too tired to even blow dry my hair or hold the book up during my read aloud at summer school!  Great feeling!

There were three more exercises which we decided to add-on during Day 4 because the above took almost an hour and 15 minutes!

Tonight I am off to Charlestown to see a New Orleans funky- brass band, The Hot Tamale Band, perform in City Square.  They are going to be having performances on Wednesdays throughout the summer as a part of CitiBank Concert series. the  It is a perfect night for it so I can’t wait to check it out!

Enjoy your evening!

~L

    Leave a Reply

    