St. Peter’s Feista 5K

Good evening! I have had a super busy day, starting at 6 a.m. with Day 4 weights, then summer school, then a nap (that part wasn’t so bad), followed by a 5K up in Gloucester, and now wrapping up with some pizza and baked french fries.

Last night I went to see the band The Hot Tamales play in City Square Park in Charlestown.  In addition to hosting a summer concert series (the next one is July 24), Charlestown Yoga also hosts yoga in the park on Saturday mornings for the month of June.  If you are in the area you should check both out!

I had a glass of wine at Jack’s place before the concert.  Riesling, a perfect summer wine. 🙂

Then I headed to City Square, which is a very short walk from Jack’s condo.

The Hot Tamales were on break when we got there but there were a ZILLION kids running around.  Kids are pretty entertaining!  Once the band started up they were all dancing, so cute!

After the concert we went to the Warren Tavern for a couple of beers and some nachos.  I got a blueberry beer (I am on a fruity beer kick!).  It was cold and refreshing!

This morning I went to the gym to do new Day 4 weights, which we did today because half of the exercises were left overs from yesterday’s!

Day 4- Chest and Back

  1. Push-up burn outs- 4 sets until failure
  2. Circle Chest Flyes- 4 set of 10, 12.5lbs
  3. Wide Grip Row using cable machine- 4 drop sets of 10, 70lb/60lb/50lb
  4. Bent Over Row- 4 drop sets of 10, 15lb/10lb/7.5lb

This new weight routine is a killer.  My body is so sore and tired that it has definitely earned a weekend of gym-free relaxation.  Body Pump is on hold for now, maybe sub a manicure or a massage in for it? 😉

Tonight kicked off the St. Peter’s Fiesta in Gloucester and I was psyched to run my first 5K. I got to set a PR without having to beat a previous race’s time! Woo!  Actually, I was a little tired and feeling kind of not like running but I stuck it out and I am glad I did.  I always feel amazing after a run/race!

We got up to Gloucester around 5 and picked up our race materials.  Walking back to the car, the sky got dark and gloomy and the rumblings of thunder were getting closer.  We decided to wait the impending storm out in the car.

The sky opened up and it poured.  And thundered a little.  And there was lightning.

I was secretly hoping this meant the race was off (hey, I was tired, don’t judge!) but it passed and before I knew it I was being directed into the starting area and then we were off.

#'s 76, 75, 74- Mo, Amy, Me

I added some new songs to my playlist, and had them all in order, the hit shuffle as I started running.  I hate running in shuffle because I organize my playlists for how I will feel at certain points.  Ya know?  Start off slow, build up, finish hard!

Gloucester 5K Mix:

  • Drake- “Find your Love”
  • Eminem and Rihanna- “Love the way you Lie”
  • Michael Posner- “Cooler than Me”
  • Miley Cyrus- “Can’t be Tamed”
  • Katy Perry- “California Gurls”
  • Dave Matthews Band- “Two Step”
  • The Beatles- “IN my Life” and “Eleanor Rigby”
  • Travie McCoy- “Billionaire”
  • Justin Beiber- “Baby”
  • Eminem- “Not Afraid”

The run was a bit hilly, looped down side streets, and came back around.  There wasn’t much shade but there was plenty of community support in the form of people waving and clapping on the side of the road, an old lady with a spray bottle, and a house with a hose to sprinkle runners (both were welcome because it was so hot).

I finished the 5K in 28:56 and actually felt pretty good with that.  I didn’t have any expectations.  I wanted it to be like my regular Thursday run, but with lots more people and fun!

Post race we hung out for a bit to check out the scene.  Tonight was the block party and a DJ was set up and ready to play until midnight.

Pink sky at night, a sailor's delight! I love summer!

Jack is headed here with pizza and I have some french fries baking in the oven.  Thank goodness tomorrow is Friday!

Eating, couching it, then bed!

And how was your day???

~L

Leave a Reply

