A.M ABS

Good morning peeps!

I am feeling pretty chipper this a.m. ( 🙂  BIG SMILE!) because after an accidentally long nap last night (I napped until 7:45!), I still slept well and woke up at 4:45 a.m. for the gym with no problem.  It has been a pretty long time since I have felt so happy to be up to gym-it!

It’s funny because (as I said before) my body craves exercise in a way I can’t describe.  I basically know that even  when I am tired and cranky I will never regret a quick run or gym-sess.  Sometimes, my tiredness and crankiness can be because of lack of exercise (though more often than not it is because I am hungry 😉

I packed my clothes bag last night and prepped my yogurt for snack.  Breakfast was a bowl of Kashi 7 Whole Grain Flake Cereal with some skim milk.  Yum!

Hero

 It was a bit chilly this morning so I wore pants and a track jacket to the gym.  Big mistake!  I was roasting by the time I walked up to the second floor to meet Amy.  I need to remember that it is the “July kind of cold” not the “January kind of cold”!

Gym today was ABS, Back, and Chest.  I don’t know what day I would consider it because I have lost track! Ha!  I believe (if you are keeping track) it is Day 3 because I did Day 1 Monday and missed Day 2.

Anywayssss….

I haven’t talked much about my AB routine so let me fill you in. 

  • I do ABS three days a week (usually Monday Wednesday Friday).  You need to leave 48 hours rest before working the same muscle group again so every-other-day works great! 
  • Diet plays a huge part in how defined your ABS can become, so following a cleaner and healthier eating plan will boost metabolism and ultimately help you lose more of the body fat that is preventing your stomach from being flat.  A healthier diet for me is trying to find a balance of carbs, protein, and fat.
  • Genetics and lifestyle also play a role in developing (or not developing) “six-pack” ABS.
  • I generally do 3 or 4 exercises that target all sections of the ABS: lower, upper, and obliques.  The 4th exercise of the set will usually be targeted at where I feel I need it the most- the obliques!
  • I like to try to switch up the AB routine every four weeks or so (as soon as I am bored or not feeling the burn!).

ABS:

  1. Straight-Leg Vertical Raise (lower abs)- 3 sets of 15-20
  2. Weighted Ball Crunch (total abs)- 3 sets of 15-20, 10lbs
  3. Medicine Ball Twist (obliques)- 3 sets of 20 alternating sides, 4lb medicine ball
  4. Plank on Ball (total abs)- 3 sets, hold for 30-60 seconds (ouch!)

As of today I am on an Oblique Frenzy!  I really want to tighten up my hips and waist, which means I need to work hard and eat smart

~Working hard means adding some more obliques exercises into my routine and switching up them up more often to “shock” the muscles. 

~Eating smarter will involve me going food shopping (ughhh), so I am adding that to my to-do list today.  I have been a lazy eater (AKA- eating for convenience) and it’s got to stop.  NOW!

Be back later for a Weight and Evening Run recap.

Enjoy the sun

~L

Leave a Reply

