Running, Weights, and Food Shopping

I went food shopping.  It was so needed that I scrapped plans to sit out and read for a bit and went straight from school.  I got all the stuff to make a marinara sauce and arancini (mmm risotto balls) for a Fourth of July cookout this weekend.  I also got:

  • rolled oats (I am missing oatmeal, I haven’t had it in at least a week)
  • whole wheat bread (ditto for french toast!)
  • some Clif bars for pre/post run snacks in two flavors I haven’t tried: Oatmeal Raisin Walnut and Chocolate Almond Fudge
  • watermelon
  • bananas
  • a bottle of Pinot Grigio 🙂

and that’s about it!  Now I have “smart food” to eat, but must have pizza tonight.  I just can’t resist.

As I said before today was Back and Chest Day at the gym.  Everything seemed much heavier this week.  Last week I did this it was the first time- and the first cycle of any exercises is always the best.  As much as I try I never get the soreness as I did the first week.  Usually, though, the movements get easier because of muscle memory and I can do more weight.  Today I did less!

Again it is drop sets, which I love and hate.  LOVE because they stimulate muscle growth in a way I haven’t tried before (woooo for toning up!), but HATE because it takes a long time (booooo for being stuck on a machine for 20 minutes!!).  But it’s all worth it in the end!

Back and Chest

  1. Push-Up Burnouts- 4 sets until failure (I do mine on the Smith Machine because real push-ups are hard!)
  2. Circle Chest Flyes on a bench– 4 sets of 10, 10lbs
  3. Bent-Over Row– 4 drop sets of 10, 10lbs-7.5lbs-5lbs *I do these seated using dumb bells, not the machine shown, but you get the idea, right? 😉
  4. Wide-Grip Row- 4 drop sets, 60lbs-50lbs-40lbs

After food shopping and napping I had the choice of running or cleaning.  I snacked on the Oatmeal Raisin Walnut Clif Bar and decided to take a run.

The bar was good.  I could taste a resemblance to an oatmeal cookie, but not a strong one.  It was very soft, sticky, and chewy which is a good combination to fill you up.  The pieces of walnut were big enough to crunch into- delish!  These bars, besides being delicious, are high in protein, all natural, and 70% organic too!

What are your favorite “go to” snack bars?? I used to try to eat the Special K Bars of Quaker Oatmeal Granola bars, but found I could eat 10 of them in one sitting and still not feel satisfied.  I am loving Clif Bars and Larabars- filling and tasty!

The weather was perfect this afternoon for a run, though I thought it was going to rain at one point, it was not too sunny, but sunny enough and not too cool but cool enough. I ran just about 4 miles in a little over a half hour.  At first my legs felt tired and my shins stung a bit, but once I got in the groove I was cruising 🙂

My next race is Sunday, July 11 with my Running Club Walk to Runners!  Can’t wait!

Now I am finishing up this post while listening to the Jack Johnson CD.  Perfect 5 o’clock music, thanks again Mikey!

Next up dinner, packing for gym, and a little summer cleaning. (got to use up my post-run energy somehow!)

Enjoy the lovely evening!

~L

Leave a Reply

