Tri and Bi-ceps

Holy cow! Welcome to Friday evening A.K.A. Day 4 Weights: Triceps and Biceps (oh, and the start of the long 4th of July weekend 🙂 ).  If I could handpick a single workout that would leave me at a good place to take a break for a few days today’s would’ve been right up there on the list!  It was a killer!

Do you like to schedule a workout before important events? I am a firm believer that a quick workout or run is the best way to pump myself up for a fun day/weekend/important event.  Working out makes me feel healthier, skinnier, and more confident!

I had a banana and a scoop of peanut butter pre-gym.

Today’s workout was crazy hard for me! My biceps are probably the weakest/least defined muscle in my body currently. Previous workout cycles have included 3 sets of bicep curls with 10 reps using 10lb or 12lb.  I would find that my biceps tired pretty quickly so I would end up not completing sets because I literally couldn’t lift the weight!  Drop sets (though I may hate to admit it) solved this problem because I would do the curl until failure and then pick up a lighter weight and do it until failure and so on.  Result?  Amazingly tired and sore arms!

Biceps/Triceps (taken from Fitness RX, June 2010)

  1. Walking Lunge with Bicep Curl– 4 sets of 16 reps alternating legs, 10lb
  2. Biceps Curl Drop Set- 4 sets of 10 reps, 12llb-10lb-8lb
  3. Overhead Triceps Extension Drop Sets– 4 sets of 10 reps, 15lb-12lb-10lb
  4. Dumbbell Triceps Punch-outs- 4 sets of 20 reps, 8lbs
  5. Hit the RACK! Hammer Curls– 4 sets of 6 reps, 15lb-12lb-10lb-8lb-5lb

The whole routine took about 1 ½ hours (with some talking and complaining in between)!

After the gym I stopped at Starbucks for a smoothie.  I got a Vivanno Strawberry Smoothie, which is made with real strawberry puree, one banana, whey protein, fiber powder, 2%milk, and ice.  This wonder-creation has no artificial sweeteners and contains 15g of protein and 6g of fiber.  Though the sugar content is a little high at 33g, it is a perfect once-in-a-while post-gym treat!  Rock on Starbucks!

Once I got to school I was absolutely famished and dove right into my overnight oats.  Man these are as good as I remembered!  Last night’s mix was ½ cup rolled oats, 1 cup vanilla almond milk, dash of cinnamon, some slivered almonds to add crunch, Trader Joe’s dried cherries, and 2 tblsp ground flax-seed.  I put it in the fridge overnight and added a dollop of peanut butter this morning before heading out the door.

The weekend forecast is looking amazing and I can’t wait to celebrate the 4th with my family and friends.  For now I am off to do some reading and cooking.  On the menu is a marinara sauce to go with my Arancini Di Riso (rice balls!).  Recipe recap to follow!

~L

One thought on “Tri and Bi-ceps

  1. Pingback: B-Fast « Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

