Shoulders and Grilled Chicken

Holy hottness!  Yes, I do believe it is the kind of hot out where it should be illegal to wear clothes!  Sounds scandalous, I know, but I was sweating the second I stepped outside to head to the gym!

I had a banana on my way…

Today was ABS and Shoulder Day (day 2) and it took about 1 hour and 20 minutes between getting started, chatting, and completing the drop sets.

SHOULDERS

ABS

  • Vertical Leg Raise– 3 sets of 15-20
  • Weighted Ball Crunch– 3 sets of 20, 10lbs
  • Medicine Ball Twist- 3 sets of 20, 3K
  • And I wanted to do planks, but completely forgot too, Boooo!  Haha!

After gym I headed to Tar Beach to sit pool side, eat lunch, and do some reading.  I have been reading the book “Spent, Memoirs of a Shopping Addict” by Avis Cardella for quite some time now (about a month).  It is good, but I am used to being so completely in love with a book that I can’t put it down and finish it in a day, that I am convincing myself I don’t like it because I am still reading it.  Make sense?

Here is the premise of the book: “After her mother’s death, fashion editor and writer Avis Cardella embraced shopping as her drug of choice. She would buy anything she could to fill the void she felt inside. The thrill of shopping soon became addictive, but the remorse she would feel afterward was crushing. Still, she would spend hours shopping each and every day. As Cardella explains, “I was no longer consuming; I was just being consumed.” (Source)

Interesting?!  I still have over 100 pages to read so we will see!

Moving on, my brother helped me grill up some oriental style chicken that I picked up at Dom’s and I had it with a crisp garden salad.  The salad was a mix of Mediterranean greens with tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, and Newman’s Own Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing.  Yum!

I also drank three bottles of water to hydrate myself for Running Club tonight.  I always thought that running in the rain would show my dedication to running, but now I think running in this crazy, hot, and humid weather shows my dedication.  Oh, and the cold beer at the end helps too!

What is you favorite summer beach read?? I am heading to Hawaii in less than two weeks and besides a loooonnng plane ride I am expecting a lot of relaxation and reading!

And if you are catching up on your blog reading while sitting in the comfort your air conditioned living rooms, check out what I did for the weekend: Friday A.M. , Friday P.M. and Monday !

Stay cool friends!

~L

Leave a Reply

