Watermelon

Hello there!  Welcome to my first official day of summer vacation! I could think of no better way to get the day started than by cooking myself breakfast.  It has been a bit since I have cooked myself breakfast because I fell out of routine and started grabbing whatever was quick and easy and now that the 4th is over there is no reason why I can’t get back n track!

Today I made myself some french toast (nothing fancy) with 1/4 cup egg whites, a splash of vanilla almond milk, and a dash of cinnamon.

I made it with a new organic whole wheat bread that was on sale at Stop and Shop last week: Vermont Bread Company 100% whole grain bread.  It is firm and kind of spongy so it soaked up the egg mix very well without getting mushy.

I drizzled some sugar-free maple syrup on top.  Yum!

I also had a small bowl of fresh watermelon.

By the way- did you know that July is National Watermelon month?!   I am a huge fan of watermelon but have never tried a fun/different drink or food recipe using it.  Maybe I will have to in honor of Watermelon month!

  • Watermelon has almost no fat or cholesterol and one cup contains only 48 calories!
  • It is a great source of lycopene and contains more of it than any other fruit or vegetable!  Lycopene is known to lower the risk of many types of cancers.
  • It also contains vitamin A, C and B6.
  • Watermelon contains about 92% water, making it the perfect way to reenergize on hot days!

Well, today I am going to meet Amy at the gym for some Legs and ABS and I also have my first Running Club as an official member, not as a walk-to-runner!  It is first Tuesday too which means we donate supplies and socialize after.  I can’t wait!

Now I’ve got to move my car because at 10 a.m. my two hour parking spot is up!

Catch ya later!

~L

Leave a Reply

