Gym Motivations

Having a gym-buddy is an amazing motivation for a lot of reasons:

1) It is someone to hold you accountable for getting to the gym, even when you want to be laying on the couch or sleeping in

2) It is someone who knows your limits enough to be able to get you to push yourself more than you want to

3) It is someone to talk/rant/complain to while working out and while there isn’t always a need for a response you feel confident in knowing that they are listening anyway

My gym buddy does all three of the above and that is why I got up at 5 a.m. to gym-it with her before she went to work.  Many people may think it is crazy waking up to gym it when you have the whole day to do it, but if I didn’t have a gym-date with Amy this morning I probs would’ve skipped the gym all together!

I was also happy with the decision to get the second hardest/longest weight day out-of-the-way: shoulders.  My arms are now DEAD TIRED but I wouldn’t have it any other way 😉 !

Pre-gym I ate an Oatmeal Raisin Walnut Clif Bar

It wasn’t enough food though because I felt empty and nauseous the whole time.  Unfortunately I didn’t wake up early enough to be able to cook, eat, and digest a bigger breakfast than that so I had to make due with what I had on hand.  Clif Bars are quick and easy.

Post-gym I had a glass of chocolate milk!

and then I went back to bed for a few hours (ahhh, the luxury of summer vacation).

I had a peach for a mid morning snack.


This afternoon I met up with a bunch of my teacher friends for a backyard gathering.  Elaine, the hostess with the mostess, had a nice little spread set up in her yard overlooking her pool.  She had fresh fruit, chips and dip, and shrimp cocktail for starters.  I had some cherries and a whole bunch of tostitos.

Lunch was a salad with craisins, pistachios, feta cheese, and spring mix.  I topped it with her Good Seasons Italian dressing made with balsamic vinegar.

I also had a piece of pizza and a few slices of caprese salad (tomato slices topped with buffalo mozz, basil, and balsamic vinaigrette).

No pics, sorry!  I am still getting used to the whipping-out-my-camera-for-pics-all-the-time part of the blogging world.

Tonight I am taking my cousins Carney and Casey to a wine tasting to celebrate their engagements!  We are meeting for dinner then heading into the Seaport for the tasting.  Don’t be jealous!

Got to go get beautified for the evening!

~L

One thought on “Gym Motivations

Leave a Reply

