Four Days of Food

I love food.  Though whenever possible I try to make it whole-some and healthy, sometimes you’ve got to splurge.  I will have to admit, I splurged a lot over the past few days!  But I do want you to know that I feel very little guilt when splurging because I am striving to reach a happy balance of healthy eating, exercising, and living in the real world!  Unfortunately I splurge for days on end sometimes.  I think i am already in vacation mode!

I mean, sometimes I need to add the extra piece of cheese to make a sandwich more gooey….

A Little Grilled Cheese Action on Thursday

see, extra gooey

while you're at it, throw in a handful of Trader Joe's salsa chips..perfection

Sometimes I have to add an extra half cup of chocolate chips to my oatmeal cookies bars, because chocolate makes EVERYTHING taste better….

Chewy Oatmeal Bars: sub maple syrup of sugar and add dried cherries

don't forget the extra half-cup of chocolate chips. What a treat!

When a recipe calls for butter to grease the pan, you’ve got to do it!

Fresh veggies ready to roast with a drizzle of EVOO

Grape tomatoes, broccoli, zuchinni

breadcrumbs and bake!

And when you’re feeling a little nostalgic, and want to remind yourself of eating breakfast at The Depot after CCD on the weekends when you were little, a sprinkle of confectionary sugar does the trick!

French Toast

Sliced plums and strawberries

and a glass of chocolate milk

I need to get back to cooking more at home.  I am finding myself eating out A LOT!  Sometimes two meals a day!  When I am looking for healthy inspirations there are a few blogs and sites I visit to find recipes.

Carrots and Cake (I got the recipes for both the oatmeal bars and Giada’s veggie recipe pictured above on this site)

Healthy Tipping Point

Eat, Live, Run

Kath Eats Real Food

Food Network (I love Giada’s recipes!)


Life expectancy would grow by leaps and bounds if green vegetables smelled as good as bacon.

~Doug Larson


What is your favorite “splurge” when eating??

~L

Leave a Reply

