Running on Ray

Happy Tuesday Wednesday everyone!  I actually sat to type up a post yesterday and got way side-tracked and was definitely in no condition to do so last night after the concert.  Let’s say that I stayed out very late and did something I haven’t done in a while: shut the bar down, ha!  I was, however, reminded this morning that I do not bounce back the way I use to 😦 Boooo for getting old.

With that being said (and I don’t admit to hangovers very often so feel lucky I am admitting it now) I will not be gymming it today.  I was going to take the noon spin class but I am opting for a full day of channel surfing on my couch and some napping.

While we are on the subject, let’s talk gym:

My goal (in case you forgot) is to run a 10K this fall in late October and I have found a training plan that I am starting Monday.  I think I will be adding a page to keep you updated on the runs.  Maybe some of you will train with me??

I picked the training plan because the six-day-a-week cycle combines running, cross training, strength training, and stretching.

Yesterday I unofficially began my training with a 2.5 mile run on the treadmill.  It was really humid outside and I wanted to do weights too so running at the gym just made more sense.  When running I kept it at a comfortable pace and tried not to wish it was over.  Sometimes I can’t get my head into it but I pushed through.  Note to self: I NEED NEW MUSIC!!

It was Leg Day so after my run I headed up to the top floor.  Amy and I planned a new routine a few weeks ago which cycled some oldie-but-goodie moves with a new (and super challenging) one.

Smith Machine Single-leg squat: (I did the modified version, a regular squat because one leg squats are like the hardest thing I have ever tried!) 3 sets of 10, 70lbs

Leg Press: 3 sets of 10, 100lbs

Deadlift: 3 sets of 12, 60lbs

Adductor Machine: 3 sets of 10, 90 lbs

Pre-gym snack:

After the gym I snacked on a sliced pink lady apple and a whole wheat pita with Trader Joe’s salted peanut butter.  Yum!  At first, when I switched to Trader Joe’s PB I didn’t like the taste because it wasn’t sweet at all. But then I realized that PB isn’t naturally sweet, it is the sugar and high fructose corn syrup that make Jiffy and such so sweet.  After a little time for adjustment I like the real PB 🙂

Of course we all know that last night was the concert of a lifetime: Ray Lamontagne and David Gray are co-headlining a tour.  I went last night and I am going again tonight.  Ray went on at 7:30 which was such an appropriate time for him.  To me he is the perfect 5 o’clock music and for him to come on while the sun was setting and the sky was pink and orange was just impeccable timing.  He played lots of songs from his new CD “God Willin’ & the Creek Don’t Rise” which just came out yesterday, but also played some of his older music (Trouble and Shelter are two of my favorites, but he didn’t play Jolene 😦 )

Ray and the Pariah Dogs (his band) did an amazing job.  They really meshed well together and not one member stood out beyond the others.  Even Ray wasn’t front and center, he was kiddie-cornered at the side of the stage.  He is a very timid guy (because we are friends and I know this) so it seemed fitting that he wouldn’t be in the center of the stage.

This show was much different from his other shows I have seen.  It wasn’t as intimate but I was just as mesmerized.  I also didn’t appreciate that people were still coming in and getting situated while he was playing.  Usually concerts don’t start until 9 so I can understand why people may not have planned on being seated and ready so early.  (I knew only because I Face Book stalk him 🙂 )  Good thing is, Ray didn’t seem to mind!

David Gray was awesome too.  His new CD came out yesterday but he played no new songs, which is fine by me!  I really like to sing at the top of my lungs at concerts so the fact that I new most of the songs really made me happy.

His set was high energy and I could tell the audience had their share of fun (and drinks?!) by the end of his set.  I loved the blues, yellows, and greens of his lighting.  Toward the very end, there was dancing and hooting in the aisles galore!

BEST MOMENT? When Ray joined David for the very last song: an acoustic version of the song “In the Morning”.   Ahhhh, melt my heart 🙂

I will leave you with one of Ray’s new songs called “New York City’s Killing Me” which he played last night.  It is so lazy sounding.  A perfect summer song.  Goodness, I love this man!

Enjoy!

~L

One thought on “Running on Ray

  1. Pingback: BEST.DAY.EVER « Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

