Namaste

Good evening peeps!

Let me tell you, after a nice relaxing weekend in New Hampshire with a few lovely ladies I was up and rearing to go early(ish) this morning.  A post will follow about the weekend so for now let’s get to my Monday.

First off, I was hoping it would rain because I knew it would make me productive today.  Thank you Mother Nature.

I was up around 8:30, showered, had a huge bowl of oatmeal, and headed to my school to start beginning of school preparations.  Basically this included me sitting at my desk for a while (a loooong while) doing nothing.  Lots of ideas are swarming in my head about how I want to set up my math block (a full 90 minutes!).  Since I have taught a self-contained fourth grade class for the past four years (meaning I taught all subject areas), I am excited to be solely a MATH TEACHER.

The highlight (and breakthrough) of my day came when Amy sent me her procedures and policies she uses in her 8th grade algebra class.  Why reinvent the wheel I say!  I modified it to be fifth grade appropriate and called it a day.  THANKS AMY!

Gym

Around 4:30 I headed to BSC to meet Amy to work on shoulders and do some yoga.  Shoulders went smoothly with a quick 4-exercise circuit that included 3 sets of 10 reps of the following:

  • Circles using 5lb weights: Hold arms to your side and lift to shoulder height, make 10 small circles (front then back), 10 large circles (front to back), then hold weights at shoulder height in front and do 5 circles clockwise and counterclockwise.
  • front raises using 10lbs
  • arnold presses using 12.5lbs
  • upright row using 40lbs

I haven’t taken a yoga class since November but since my 10K training plan (which officially starts today) calls for Monday to be a “stretch and strength day” I figured yoga would be the best way to stretch.  Interestingly enough, my fav yoga teacher, who left a few weeks ago to move to DC, was subbing for the class.  SCORE!

I really enjoyed the Vinyasa style yoga because it was fast paced and kept me moving the entire time.  My wrists were definitely sore during any side-planks and downward dogs I did.  I noticed a huge difference in my strength and stamina to hold poses from my last class in November too.  Overall I was happy I did it and will take another class soon.

Dinner

I headed to Jack’s house after to cook some dinner for him since he is busy finishing up some school work 🙂

Salads to start:

I always make his and hers salads:  hers has tomatoes, cucumbers, green olives, and croutons.  His has lettuce, pepperoni, and American cheese.  What can I say, I am a gourmet chef 😉 .  Both topped with Newman’s Own light balsamic vinaigrette.

I made Shake and Bake chicken with Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Medley.  I make the rice with chicken stock instead of water so it gives it a really nice flavor.

Healthy Living Blogs:

In other news, Want.Believe.Achieve has joined a new resource for the health blogging community on a site called Healthy Living Blogs.  It was created by Lindsey of Sound Eats. HLB is a site designed to enhance the positive community of the healthy living blog world. Bloggers and readers can explore the site and find more blogs to love, bloggers in their area, and forums to deepen healthy discussion and support. If you’re interested in having your site listed on HLB, simply send the following information to healthylivingblogs@gmail.com and check the site out for yourself! (Thanks to HLB for this neat little blurb about the site!)

There are some really interesting healthy living blogs out there and what I like most about the HLB site is that I can search for new blogs to read by country and state.  I love finding other blogs to read from the Boston area!  Check it out!

Are you a blog reader?  If so, which blogs do you read?  If not, which aspect of a healthy living blog would interest you most: food, exercise, relaxation, spirituality?  Something else??

Well friends, I am going to sort through pictures from the weekend and get started on some catch-up posts.  Tomorrow I have a 2.5 mile run planned (possibly on the treadmill) and some strength training with legs to do before I head back into the classroom for day to of Operation Back to School.

Night

~L

Leave a Reply

