New Hampshire: Friday Night

So you may (or may not) have noticed my disappearance in the blog world for the past few weeks.  I have no good excuses…and I am sorry if you have missed me (I have missed you 🙂 )….

Now, let’s move on….

The weekend of August 20th I went on a girls weekend in New Hampshire with some lovely ladies.  I headed up early and hike with Amy to the summit of Bald Peak, which is located on Mt. Kinsman.  It was a lovely hike, check it out here.

Friday afternoon we checked into our suite at the Rivergreen Resort, which is near Loon Mountain.  The hotel was kind of dated but the suite was H U G E!  it slept 6 people comfortably, had a separate bedroom, two bathrooms (one had a hot tub), a living room, dining room, and kitchen.  It was a great deal (scored on the site Buy With Me) at $150 for the weekend.  Each girl paid $25! (The very tiny photos below are courtesy of the hotel’s website)

I made dinner Friday night.  I like cooking so it was no big deal to me.  Of course I only cook when I have a big glass of wine to enjoy while doing it!

This was a Tuscan blend of 85% Sangiovese, 10% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Merlot.  It is so smooth and tasty and pairs perfectly with pasta.  If you are a red wine drinker, looking for a new fall wine, try it out!

Amy started us out with her now-famous bruschetta made with grape tomatoes, garlic powder, basil, EVOO, and crispy baked baguette slices.  We topped some with the tomato mix and mozzerella cheese and some with just cheese.

Tomato-less bruschetta is quite fancy 😉

Dinner was chicken parmesan with whole wheat pasta.  We all planned ahead and tried to bring as many of the non-perishable cooking materials we would need and headed to the store for milk, eggs, cookie dough, etc.  We remembered everything but the most important part: the breadcrumbs (fail!).  Andrea headed to the store though and saved the day….

We (or at least I) chowed until stuffed silly.  Had a couple more glasses-o-wine and decided dessert was a must.

In celebration of being in the mountains we did the most out doors-y thing we could….

we made s’mores on the stove.  YUM.

My s’more roasting technique (though usually done over open flame) is to let the marshmallow catch on fire so it is super crispy.  Then I eat the crisp part and smear the gooey part on the chocolate.

Heaven!

I forget what time we actually called it a night, but I know that after waking up at 5 to head up for the hike, and actually hiking the hike, I had a full belly and could’ve fallen asleep on my empty plate.

Next post: hike numero dos……

~L

Leave a Reply

