Truth be told..

Truth be told, and I am being really honest here, winter has never been my favorite season.  I have never been a fan of the cold, dreary days or the fact the I wake up and go to bed when its dark.

Jack calls this one "The Walk of Snow"

This is weird I know, considering I knowingly went to college in Maine, where the winters are more frigid, the snow is feet deeper, and the chance for a teacher to get a snow day is slim to none compared to here.  My college was (actually, still is) about 45 minutes from Sugarloaf ski resort, and though I bought a season pass and every conceivable accessory to become a snowboarder, I only ONCE woke up and dragged myself to the mountain.

ONCE, in 4 years….

So it will probably surprise you to know that running in cold, winter weather is my favorite weather to run in.  Yes, more than running in summer or spring, or running in Hawaii for that matter!

This time last year, if you told me I would have geared up with my Spibelt, Garmin, gloves, winter hat, and triple layers of sweat-wicking clothing just to go for a run,  I would have said “HELL no, not me”.

How amazing is it that a gal can change so much in a year (or two)!

yes, I am the hott stuff in the middle

 

Well, today I ran 5 miles in the cold and flurries.

It was challenging, yet do-able..

both invigorating and exhausting…

and though I may have damaged a toenail in the process…

I did it…

in just over 57 minutes.

This is for sure is a positive sign for the *bigger* and *better* things I have in store for myself as a runner.

(I have run 5 miles before (here and here)…but my head wasn’t in the run the way it was today.  It felt damn good today!)

So, there you have it.  I ran 5 miles in the wintry cold.  I have no pictures to prove it though, so you’re just going to have to trust me on this one! 😉

 

 

What have you done that surprised yourself lately??

~L

3 thoughts on “Truth be told..

  1. Pingback: Take it to the Track Baby | Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

