Crossfit

So one of my goals this year is to “go it alone” and today I did something brand new for me, all by myself.

Today I went for my first onboarding session for Crossfit.

What is Crossfit you ask?

Their website describes it perfectly:  “Crossfit is constantly varied functional movement at high intensity. Crossfitters enhance mind and body in all 10 domains of fitness: Cardio/Resipiratory endurance, Speed, Agility, Stamina, Strength, Power, Accuracy, Balance, Flexibility, and Coordination. We specialize in not specializing.”

Check out their video:

I have been toying with the idea of trying it out for some time now (Ali at FoodFitnessFashion joined and I have been drooling over her class by class recaps), but I have been too scared to try it on my own.  Well, there is no time like the present friends, and after sitting on my arse for the second snow day this week (and not even wanting to head to the gym) I knew I NEEDED to try something different.

I signed up for an Onboarding 4 pack.  And I got a teacher discount.  Discounts rule!

The onboarding sessions are a way for me to learn proper techniques for moves that will be done regularly in class, and also a way to get used to the Crossfit format.

This isn’t your normal step-aerobics class! Oh no it isn’t.

Today I had a one-on-one session with one of the trainers.

We started with the basics:  air squats, sit-ups, pull ups, push ups, and using the row machine.  I was taught several different modifications for exercises (and believe me, I need all the modifications I can get in the pull-up department).  Tristan, my trainer, answered a lot of my questions about how classes were held, how members keep track of their progress, and what kind of “diet” was needed to fuel myself for workouts.

Then I took a “fit test”, just to use as a benchmark.  I did:

500m row

40 air squats

30 sit-ups

20 push-ups (modified on my knees)

10 pull-ups (modified using a band)

Time: 9 min 37 seconds

Woop Woop, under 10 minutes is a good start for me, a girls needs something to work towards!

I have my next session Monday and I can’t wait to see what else Crossfit has to offer!

Happy Saturday!

~L

2 thoughts on “Crossfit

  1. Pingback: It’s T-Shirt Time! « Want.Believe.Achieve

  2. Pingback: Clif Bars and Energy | Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

