It’s T-Shirt Time!

I am by no means complaining, so don’t take this the wrong way, but I feel like I haven’t been to school in like a zillion years.  I don’t mind the time off so much as I mind being out of a routine.  I do not do well with the staying up later, sleeping longer, and feeling relaxed 24/7 part of this whole thing!  With that being said- you must remind me that I feel this way next week when I am whining and wishing for another snow day.

Is anyone else a routine person?  If so you MUST know what I am talking about!

Anyway–

After an entire weekend of eating entirely too much and drinking more than usual, I had a hard time getting up and motivated to do much.  It amazes me how tired one can still feel even after sleeping for a solid 8 to 10 hours a night! Fortunately for me though, I had scheduled my second onboarding session at Crossfit.  I wasn’t as nervous about today’s session as I was for Saturday’s (thank goodness) and was eager to get started.

In case you are wondering, these onboarding sessions (as I see them) are to get me familiar with all the different movements I will encounter once I take a Crossfit class and to just give me a general understanding of what Crossfit is all about.  They are one-on-one sessions so I am able to ask a ton of questions and really learn correct form at my own pace.

Crossfit suggests doing at least one onboarding session before starting, and I bought 4.  I think I should be all set 🙂

My session on Day 1 was all about the basics, and today, for the first time, I used an Olympic training bar!

(SOURCE)

Today’s session was as follows:

  • 500 m row to warm up
  • Front squat
  • Back Squat
  • Push Press
  • Overhead Squat
  • Deadlift with Olymipc bar

We started by practicing the moves with a piece of PVC pipe to help me practice the correct form.  Then I did the same move using a 15lb Olympic bar.  I did 5 reps of each with just the bar.  After we headed over to the training bar rack and I did each of the above off the rack with the 45lb Olymipc bar and some weight added to the squats.  Holy heavy and difficult!

I am ADDICTED to getting better at everything I have tried so far! I want to be a Crossfit All-star soooooo badly!

And as for the deadlifts, I never knew how technical they were!

(SOURCE)

All in all, all the moves are technical and when I focus on where my shoulders should be then my butt gets out of place, and vice versa.  Slowly but surely I will get it, and I am telling ya- I can’t wait for it all to come together!

I have already scheduled my third session for Thursday after school and CAN’T WAIT to try out my first Crossfit class Saturday morning!

After Crossfit I felt super-motivated and headed to BSC for a 3.5 mile run on the treadmill.  I finished it in a little over 30 minutes so I didn’t feel like I hated running indoors as much as I usually do.  I will say that listening to my power song (Eminem “Till I Collapse”) three times really helped the time fly by at the end!

After a quick lunch with some friends I headed to Target and Old Navy to find myself some new workout clothes.  I had to finally admit to myself that my white under-tank for working out is actually gray and needs to be replaced.

See, I am a layer-er.  When ever I get dressed to run or hit the gym (or basically do anything) I always need a snug under-tank to go under my shirt.  This under tank needs to be long enough to be seen below the over shirt like so:

Please excuse the dingy-ness, but you get the point right?

At Target I found some cotton, dri-fit Champion tanks on sale for $9.99, so I bought one in every color they had because that is how I roll. 😉

Then I headed to Old Navy and found two fun tanks in bright spring patterns and colors.  I am so going to rock these to like now.

As for tonight, I may go to the movies (if Jack can find a way to get me off the couch) and then watch a special Monday night episode of the Jersey Shore.  I bet Pauly D can relate to my need for layers

“It’s T-Shirt Tiiiiiiime!”

How was your Monday???

~L

Leave a Reply

