What Day is it???

Rants and Raves

It took me almost the entire school day today to realize that today is, in fact, Wednesday.  Not Tuesday (as I had thought all morning) or Thursday (as I thought this afternoon).  It is just plain, old Tuesday, blah!  I personally feel like Tuesdays are like vanilla ice cream.  I’ll eat it when there’s no other flavor to choose from, but it wouldn’t be my first choice otherwise.  What would Monday be you ask?  Probably this garlic flavored ice cream from China.  I wouldn’t touch it with a 10 foot pole..

Blecchhhh

(SOURCE)

Moving on.. 🙂

My day was hectic and by the time I got home (4:35) I had to change faster than Superman in a phone booth and head straight to Crossfit for my third onboarding session, which I rescheduled for today.

Luckily, I had my gym bag packed (in an attempt to get myself to the gym yesterday) so I didn’t have to go crazy looking for an outfit.

Obviously I rocked my new layering tanks.  Today I wore black pants, my gray layering tank, and a pink Under Armour long sleeve shirt my mom gave me for Christmas.

I didn’t have time to even stop and chat with Jack on my way out the door, but I did have time to enjoy half a Clif Mojo bar.

These things are quite delectable.  Sweet and salty.  Kinda like a chocolate covered pretzel, but in place of chocolate would be peanut butter chips.

I eat half of a bar or a full bar about 45 minutes before a run or other exercise as my main source of pre-workout fuel.

Crossfit

Onboarding session 3 was pretty cool, and the movements we worked on today were mostly nothing I have ever done before.  The things I had done, I had been doing wrong, so it was good to practice the “right” form.  The 45ish mins FLEW by.  Tristan is an amazing trainer!  He doesn’t take any of my “I don’t think I can do this” crap.

Today we worked on the following (and I did my best to remember them all):

  • 500 m row
  • Light stretching
  • Box Jump progression
  • Kettlebells: Russian Swing, transfer, and Crossfit style
  • Burpee
  • Mountain Climbers
  • GHD sit ups and back extension
  • Ring dip (with modifications)
  • Wall ball shots
  • Medicine ball clean (I think.  If not this something with the medicine ball)
  • Skin the Cat

The workout (though I only did one set of about 5 for each) made me sweat and definitely raised my heart rate.  I am sure they make for a challenging workout!  I won’t talk about all the moves listed but there were a few I found extra challenging and just plain fun.

1) Kettlebells.

I have never used them before, and what surprised me most was the power to lift the kettlebell is NOT supposed to come from the arms and shoulders.  it is supposed to come from the “explosive movement” created by thrusting your hips forward (think of this “explosive movement” as jumping, but without actually lifting your feet off the ground).  I could feel it in my core for sure!

(SOURCE)

2) Skin the Cat.

Wow.  I had googled this before and automatically told myself I would NEVER be able to do it.  I didn’t even want to try it.  I started closer to the ground, and it wasn’t as slow and controlled as the video below was (My technique was more of a try-to-do-a-backflip with legs flailing and hope-that-you don’t-let-go-of-the-ring-in-the-process), but it was a start.  I can’t wait to be a bad-ass and do the real thing!

I scheduled my fourth and final session for Saturday afternoon.  I am dying to take a class but I am still a little anxious, but after my onboarding sessions are over I got to just DO IT! Hopefully I will be able to find a class that Tristan teaches because he is very professional, knows a lot about everything and is patient and encouraging.

Roll on, Roll on

After, I went to BSC for a 4.5 miles run on the treadmill.  Unfortunately the place was JAMMED, and there was not one treadmill to be seen.  I found myself eyeing the times on each machine and gave dirty looks behind the backs of the people who went over the “30 minute limit during peak hours”.

When I did get one, my legs felt as heavy as lead and I ran at a 12 minute pace for just about 2 miles.  I couldn’t get my legs to move any faster, or any longer.  My muscle soreness from Monday’s Crossfit session didn’t set in until last night and with the work I did today my legs were toast.

 

Good Eats

What makes sore legs and a bad run better?

BROCCOLI! (Duh!)

I grabbed some Chinese food for dinner. I had beef with broccoli, no beef, extra broccoli (dead serious that’s how I usually order it).  I also had a bunch of white rice, smothered in some of the dark sauce, and started with a bowl of Hot and Sour soup (I only eat the broth though!).

Now I am finishing up this post and heading to bed.  This cold weather is for the birds and I need to be under the covers ASAP.

How are we feeling about the new headings for different sections of the post?  I am looking for ways to make W.B.A more readable.  Thoughts?? Suggestions??

~L

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

