All “On”-board!

Well hello there!

I am currently dreading my weekly trip to the grocery store.  I hate food shopping for two main reasons:

1) I am so bored with eating and cooking the same meals

2) I hate the act of bringing all the groceries up and putting them away.

So I will buy myself a little more time and blog about my Saturday 🙂

Crossfit

Yesterday morning I was up an at ’em to hit up Crossfit for my 4th and final onboarding session.  I am not going to lie, I love having the one-on-one aspect of the onboarding sessions.  I feel extremely comfortable with Tristan, my trainer/onboarder.  He is so patient and encouraging, which was important, especially yesterday, when I was having a hard time getting into the workout mentally.

The main skill I am working on, that seems to be needed to do many of the Crossfit-style moves, is this “explosive motion” that comes from your hips.  This “explosive motion” can be described two ways:  think of it as jumping, but without coming off the floor OR like humping the air.  I have tried both ways and probably only get it 1 out of every 3 times I try.  Tristan seems to believe I may think about it too much, which is quite possible considering I think of EVERYTHING too much!  I just really want to be able to do everything like now!

We reviewed the moves from session 2 that used the Olympic training bar so we could build up to doing the Olympic Clean.

  • Overhead Squat
  • Front Squat
  • Back Squat
  • Shoulder Press
  • Deadlifts
  • Olympic Clean

Like I said before, the Olympic Clean was more mentally challenging for me because I felt like I just wasn’t getting it.  Tristan slowed things down, broke the move up for me in several different ways, and eventually I was able to pull it all together to do something that resembled the Olympic Clean.

Let’s just say I definitely have more practice to do with it, but the foundation is there at least!

Tomorrow night I am taking my first Crossfit class and I am very excited to get over my “going to a class by myself” fear.

Roll On, Roll On

After Crossfit I headed to BSC to hit up the treadmill for 5 miles.  The weather in Boston has been way too icy and frigid to run outside which is a huge bummer, but at least for now I don’t mind running longer distances indoors.

BSC was packed and that didn’t make me happy either.  I hate having people stare me down while I am running.

The first couple miles were pure torture.  I couldn’t find any songs I wanted to run too and my pace was slower than I would’ve liked.  But after I warmed up I increased my speed a bit and got into the zone.

Date Night

Then Jack and I headed to the Bullfinch Hotel to use a coupon I bought off the site “Buy With Me”.  I thought it would be a nice stay-cation type of night.

(SOURCE)

We checked in and headed to the North End for dinner at Fiore.

(SOURCE)

It was delicious 🙂  I got eggplant parm and Jack got (his newly named) “Irish parm” which is chicken parm with a garlic butter sauce as opposed to marninara.  Ya, I thought it was weird too!  The  waiter actually told us the chef, who was from Rome, was trying to refuse to make the dish like that, haha!

Jack ate every last crumb.

Our last stop for the night was supposed to be the movies to see “Black Swan”, but when we got there it was sold out.  Grrrrr….

Well, we decided to head to the Colonial Theater to see if we could get tickets to see “Jersey Boys”.  We ended up with third row seats for the performance. It was awesome (especially because I may not be able to see from far distances very well). I had seen the show before but it was still amazing.  I forgot how many songs I knew by The Four Seasons!

We walked back to the hotel after the show and ultimately decided we would rather be home.

So we checked out.

Now the only question is:  did the women who checked us out 5 hours after she checked us in think I was a hooker or a mistress? haha

~L

Leave a Reply

