Finally Monday Night

Boy  am I happy Monday is over!  I didn’t have a bad day or anything, I just couldn’t get up to save my life this morning.  It was probably because I went to bed like 3 hours past my usual Sunday night bedtime.  Yes folks, this girl stayed up until 11 o’clock…P.M!, on a Sunday.  If that doesn’t show I am a bad-ass I don’t know what will!

Food

Breakfast was same as always: oatmeal and a banana.

Lunch for the week: turkey and cheese sammie

Snacks: another banana, strawberries, and a peach 🙂

Pre-workout I had a banana and a chocolate-almond fudge Clif bar.  It was moist and had a couple of whole almonds in the bar.  Very satisfying flavor!

Post-workout as I blog, I am having left over lazy lasagna (ziti, marinara, ricotta cheese, mozzarella cheese)

and a salad.

In the mix was: mixed greens and romaine lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, broccoli, and pepproncini peppers.  Oh, and light Ceasar dressing.

CrossFit

Today’s WOD (workout of the day) was titled “300”, and in the end, we huddled together and cheered something about Spartans, so I am guessing it has something to do with the movie 300?

Anyway, it was tough but I tried my hardest and sweat the most I have in a while.

  • 25 pull-ups (jumping)
  • 50 deadlifts
  • 50 push-ups (modified)
  • 50 box jumps
  • 50 single arm clean and press with kettlebells
  • 50 floor wipers
  • 25 pull-ups (jumping)

I did it all in just about 25 minutes (the board said 29, but the girl who finished after me has a time earlier than mine so I am guessing my time was recorded with her name and vice versa).

I can already feel myself getting better at the pull-up.  They aren’t as excruciating as they used to be.  The last set were easier than the first, partly because of couple of the guys that had been finished were rooting me on!  It felt really good to have the instructor John and Tristan encouraging me too.  I got to talking to John after and he was explaining the “kipping pull-up” where (to me) it looks like you are rocking yourself back and forth to get your chin to the bar, then you use your arms to pull you up the rest of the way.  Not saying that it is easy, but it doesn’t seem too bad.  I don’t know…my famous last words perhaps?

Remember my goal for the new year?  “Go it alone (when necessary)..Something I know about myself is that no matter how much I’d like to try something I won’t try it alone.” Well, I am kicking that goal’s little bee-hind!  I have met some really friendly people, who are all in the same boat as me in terms of getting started!

Can I get a Woop Woop?!?

Tomorrow I am going to finally attempt a run outside.  The streets/sidewalks of Boston have to be clear enough for pedestrians so I am going to take advantage of that.  I think I have 7 miles on tap and it has been quite a while since I have run outdoors.

Ok, my arms are burning as I type this, and I have a DVR of Glee that I must watch before I go to bed!

What do you have planned for your week??

~L

 

One thought on “Finally Monday Night

  1. Pingback: What Doesn’t Kill Ya… | Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

