Setting Sail with Carnival Glory

Well, it is hard to believe that just two short days ago I was sitting in the warm Caribbean sun *sigh*.  When I heard of the weather conditions on my travels home yesterday I first hoped for a snow day today then, knowing it would never happen, contemplated taking up permanent residence on the Carnival Glory.  I decided against the latter for two reasons:

  1. my wallet probably couldn’t afford anymore martini/wine/beer bills
  2. my waistline definitely can not handle anymore three-course meals 🙂

Yes friends, I am finally home and snapping out of my food coma and back into reality.

But before I go any further with the crazy talk of “I am glad I am back home and getting back into the swing of things”, I’d like to share some highlights of my vacation to get you through this crappy rain.

Jack and I flew into Miami last Saturday and stayed near the Miami Port because we wanted to make sure we made it to the boat on time Sunday.  We putzed (is that a word?) around the seaport, ate lunch at the Hard Rock Cafe, and had dinner at an little Italian restaurant on the waterfront.  It was delightful!

The Carnival Glory set sail on late Sunday afternoon.  I was lucky enough to have my friend Chris, who not only loves cruises but has a travel site to book one, answer all my questions before hand.  I really like knowing what to expect 🙂

We couldn’t get into the rooms for a bit so we headed to the adult only section of the boat and hung up there, far away from the zillion kiddies who took over the pool and water slide.  

I also ordered their drink of the day and relaxed in the warm Florida sun for a bit.

After we got in the room and took a nap we waited until the boat set sail.  I took pictures of what I saw: water and sun.

Ok you get the picture, right? I got a pedicure and then Jack and I headed to the steakhouse for dinner.  It was delish.  I got a whole complimentary bottle of wine for myself (I didn’t drink it all if you’re curious)

and Jack got a taste of the chef’s newest appetizer….

(a hamburger the size of his thumb).

We finished off the night at the Piano Bar, which unexpectedly turned into our nightly hangout for the cruise.  I will talk about Ron the Piano man in another post.  I admire him because I have always wanted to be able to play the piano.  (I took lessons in 5th grade and quit and took two classes in college and quit.)

_____________________________________

Today it was pretty tough getting up-and-at-’em I’ll tell you.  I must have a decent tan becasue several of my fifth graders said to me “Miss C. you got darker”, haha.  THey are very observant!  Hopefully I can keep my golden-Carribean glow for the rest of the winter. (Hollywood Tans *ahem*).

Well I could keep rambling about my day but this post is probably long enough (though I DID have the most amazing CrossFit workout with Tristan tonight) and I still need to eat some food before bed.

What is your favorite vacation destination?  Would you like to be on a cruise where you bop around to different places for a week, or fly and stay put for the time? I am definitely a beach bum and getting me to do anything off of a beach chair is damn-near impossible (just ask Jack)!

Night

~L


Leave a Reply

