Hello HAL!

How is everybody’s “Jersday” going?

Anyone else looking forward to seeing what shizzt goes down on “The Shore” tonight?

I figure that since I still have a few hours to go, I’d get to planning out my training for my half marathon that is coming up in 12 short weeks.

I love routine and I love plans, the only problem I find with myself is that it takes me forever to sort through my plans to make a routine! ūüėČ

I have three colored markers to help me:

  • Green= Crossfit
  • Red= Running
  • Silver (not pictured)= everything else (because my life needs to involve more than the two above!)

Today I printed out Hal Higdon’s Half Marathon Training for the Novice Runner. ¬†I dated each of the 12 weeks until the race and marked my four upcoming races. ¬†This plan couldn’t be more perfect because my Half Marathon falls on the very last Sunday of training! Not only that, I got excited at the prospect of the Week 9-12 runs because that is when the spring-y weather will be around!

Hal’s plan keeps running/rest/cross training/strength training to specific days each week:

Week
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
Stretch &
Strengthen
3 m run
2 m run or cross
3 m run +
strength
Rest
30 min
cross
4 m run
2
Stretch &
Strengthen
3 m run
2 m run or cross
3 m run +
strength
Rest
30 min
cross
4 m run
3
Stretch &
Strengthen
3.5 m run
2 m run or cross
3.5 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
5 m run
4
Stretch &
Strengthen
3.5 m run
2 m run or cross
3.5 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
5 m run

Any days that call for “strength training” or “cross training” I am going to do CrossFit.

My 12 Week Training Plan will look kinda like this:

  • 3-4 days(ish) Crossfit
  • 4 days(ish) running
  • 1-2 full rest days

Now I am working on getting all the dates, daily mileage, and stuff into a monthly planner.

I already messed up once, so I am actually working in my second planner (I hadn’t perfected my color system in the book above).

I am not going to stick to the plan exactly as Hal planned it because I do like the flexibility of arranging the runs around the weather/time of day/mood.  Fridays are sometimes when I love to run most and Mondays I can find myself dragging. However, I will do my best to spread the running days out to prevent myself from getting bored with running and will also try to only have to double up with a CrossFit and Running Day two days a week.

And of course listening to my body is *key*.  I mean I need to give it what it needs so it will take me those 13.1 miles.

This is real deal planning!  A Half Marathon is no joke, and I am only now realizing how big of an undertaking training for it is!  EEEK!


“Setting a goal is not the main thing. It is deciding how you will go about achieving it and staying with that plan.” Tom Landry

 

What long term goal have you set and how did you planned to meet it?  Did you look at the larger  picture or take it day-by-day, week-by-week? Inquiring minds want to know!

~L


 

Leave a Reply

