I’m a Believer

My Monday was quite a whirlwind!  I am not sure how it got to be 5 o’clock so darn fast!  Did that happen to anybody else?

I started my day with this yummy breakfast (not oatmeal for the first time in a while):

In the mix:

  • sliced strawberries
  • 1/3ish cup of strawberry granola
  • Chiobani vanilla yogurt

I always worry that a breakfast like this won’t fill me up, and I am wrong every time!

Ok, now let’s rewind to last night.

After waking up from a nap and procrastinating food shopping, I finally made it to the store.  I am currently trying to eat out less and make sure I eat more than cereal for dinner.  As I said last week, by the time I get home from CrossFit or a run I have no desire to bake/broil/fry/order take out.  To solve the problem, I am planning and prepping my meals on Sundays.  Coming up on my second week of doing this its already working so well!  I actually went shopping with a list people! I usually wonder aimlessly around the store and spend $80 on nothing.  Having a plan sure makes the trip seem more satisfying!

On the menu this week:

Monday: Crockpot chicken and rice

Tuesday: Dinner with Kristin

Wednesday: Lasagna

Thursday: Ok, I didn’t get that far…but left over lasagna maybe?

Friday: Restaurant week with my mom at Flemings and the play “Mary Poppins”

Today I made BBQ/Teryaki chicken breasts using a recipe I googled.  I threw it in the crockpot on low heat for 5-8 hours.  The condo smelled AH-Mazing when I got home today!

When I took it out of the crockpot the meat fell right off the bone.  And this isn’t a flaky, tuna-like texture, Mom 😉 (blech), this is really good!

Recipe:

  • sliced onion and garlic at bottom of pot and top with 2-3lbs chicken parts (I used bone-in breasts), skin removed

Combine:

  • 1/8tsp hot sauce
  • 1/4tsp pepper
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1 tblsp lemon juice
  • 1 tblsp chili powder
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup ketchup

I had to leave it on for about 9 hours, which kind of made the left over juices dry out and begin to burn.  If I had been able to get to it sooner, I would’ve removed the cooked chicken, added water and a little cornstarch and made a glaze to coat the chicken with.  That would’ve been fantastic (I am a dipper!).

OOOOOOO, and my secret weapon in this whole thing: Slow Cooker Liners!  I had read about these things and I have NO IDEA why I didn’t try them sooner.  Look, no clean up (this pic was after I removed the bag).  I am a believer in these things, and you should be too!  Because I know doing dishes isn’t anyone’s favorite chore 😉

CrossFit tonight then coming right home to this delicious dinner.  Planning sure does pay off.

How do you plan your dinners for the week??  Do you shop with recipes in mind or buy a little of this and that and go from there??

~L

 

Leave a Reply

