Mary

I.Love.CrossFit.

It is always such a good workout.  I love the positive energy in the room.  I love trainers that know my name.  I love feeling like I am not completely clueless.  And most of all, I love that I leave each class feeling stronger than ever!

I can’t sing this places praises enough.  You should try it out!  Teachers get a  discount on unlimited monthly passes.  Just sayin’ 🙂

Today’s WOD was as follows:

Skill: Snatch, 5 x 5 reps

I did two rounds of 3 reps and 3 round of 5 reps.  My max weight was 20lbs.

“Mary”– AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) in 20 minutes

  • 5 handstand push ups (with the emphasis is on the shoulders as opposed to the chest), I did the modified version below.

(SOURCE)

  • 10 pistols (one-legged squats), I modified by using a band to balance
  • 15 pull-ups, again modified, I did jumping pulls ups for all but the last two rounds when I used the band and jumped.

I did 10 or 11 rounds in 20 minutes.

The handstand push-ups were pretty darn hard.  Do-able, but hard!  I can’t imagine doing real-live handstand push-ups!

I also had a pull-up epiphany.  I had been controlling my up and down movement while I did push-ups.  Today John told me that the negative movement (controlling the down part) was working other muscle not needed in pull-ups, essentially making them harder for me.    Leave it up to me to make a CrossFit workout harder for myself!  One I fixed that aspect by letting myself drop out of the pull-up I was able to focus more energy on the upward motion.

Oh, and in warm up I did three real push-ups.  I mean chest-to-floor-and-back up- push-ups, for the first time ever.  I felt so strong!

Time for some food and TV!

Night
~L

4 thoughts on “Mary

  1. Are you doing Crossfit Boston or Crossfit Fenway? I looked into Fenway and the prices appeared very expensive. What have you found?

    Also: Congrats on the Black Cat! Huge accomplishment!

    • I am doing Avalon Crossfit in Charlestown. Since I am a teacher I get a discount, and I was able to join before packages went up a tad in February. I belong to boston sports club and pay just $60 a month more for Crossfit. For me it is totally worth it. I have been a member for like a month and a half and haven’t done the same routine in any class. They offer bootcamp and kettlebell classes, in addition to yoga, boxing, and regular crossfit classes. They all kick my butt!

      You should check out their website (http://www.avaloncrossfit.com/). They are offering a free Crossfit class for the public on Monday, March 14 and Monday, March 21 from 7:30-8:30. Let me know if you decide to try it out 🙂

  2. Wow. The disparity is crazy. On 3/18/10, CF Fenway quoted me a fee schedule for an 18 month membership (3 classes/wk) of $625 down and 17 payments of $190/month. That works out to $214/month. Longer commitments had a smaller monthly rate of course. You could also choose a different class/wk frequency.

    $60/month is virtually a drop in the bucket compared to that.

Leave a Reply

