Fried

My Friday started with an afternoon CrossFit session with Tristan.  The WOD was for the people participating in the Crossfit Open Sectionals to be able to practice.  I am not personally competing in them but it was fun to try out a workout.

Skill review: Power snatches

WOD (AMRAP):

30 double unders (I did singles x3)

15 Power snatches (20lbs)

Power snatches require you to lift an Olympic bar from the floor to overhead in one motion.  When I did my last onboarding session Tristan and I worked on these for a bit and I just couldn’t get it.  Using your hips for the power just confused me.  I know I was thinking about it too much!

Luckily for me I was able to rock the snatches this time!  I completed 2 rounds plus 70 jump rope singles.

It goes without saying I sweat a lot!

After CrossFit I showered and got ready to meet the ladies at Anthem.  I love that restaurant week allows you to try out places which you may not normally have tried.  Anthem is located in the middle of Fanueil Hall and offered a very cool vibe.  We got a window seat which was perfect for people watching.

I started out with a glass of Sauvignon Blanc.  I loved the melon-y flavor of the wine.  It completmented the 70 degree weather perfectly!  I had two glasses over the course of lunch.

First course was a Ceasar salad.  It was good, nothing out of the ordinary.

The main course was their margherita pizza with buffalo mozzerella, chunky tomato sauce and fresh basil.  It was served on a wooden pizza plank (not sure if that is what it is called).

It was thin and crunchy and tasted very fresh.

Clearly I hated it 🙂

Dessert was a fried Twinkie served with fresh berries and whipped cream.  The bottom got a little soggy from the berry juice but I liked it just the same.

Everything tastes better fried people!  This we know.  I actually haven’t had too many crazy fried desserts, but my favorite so far is a deep fried Oreo.  Yum!

After lunch we watched some break-dancers for a bit then walked home.  🙂

What is your favorite fried food??

~L

 

Leave a Reply

