Taking Stock

A new favorite routine of mine is taking CrossFit Bootcamp class on Saturday mornings.  The class starts at 10:30 so it isn’t too early, but it is early enough to not interfere with my Saturday plans.  It gets me up and going in the morning, and now that the weather is getting nicer I can begin to appreciate it being the reason to get out of the house on a Saturday.

In the two months I have been a member, none of my BootCamp classes or regular CrossFit classes have been the same.  The only things they have in common is that they are insanely challenging and have me sweating before the warm-up is over.

No complaints here.

And it is amazing that I am willing to go out in public after a class with my hair slicked back into a pony tail and wearing damp clothes.  It is like a badge of honor after class.  I have no shame about it.

Yesterday’s Bootcamp was run by Tristan.  The Tabata workout only lasted 4 minutes a round, but it was killer.  Tabata is where you go all out, doing as many reps as you can in 20 seconds and then take a 10 second break.  This combination of 20 sec on, 10 secs off allows your body to partially recover and gives you the chance to train at a higher intensity.  The 10 second break flies by, let me tell you.  Basically you are constantly moving for all 8 rounds.  I mean, it took me 10 seconds to get ready for the next exercise in the series!

Here is what we did:

  • plate push-ups
  • ab mat sit-ups
  • plate jumps
  • plank
  • plate squats
  • mountain climbers
  • plate burpees

I did real live push-ups for all 8 rounds this time!  I may be crazy, but the seem easier with one hand on a plate and the other on the ground.

And, you are right, plate burpees (where you raise a 25lb plate over your head during the upward motion of a burpee) are not as fun OR easy as they sound 😉

After CrossFit I headed to Ira Mazda to get my BRAND NEW car (let’s remember, it is 5 days old) to get an inspection sticker and pick up my registration.  I would say I have spent more time than necessary at that dealership and was happy with the prospect of seeing them…maybe never again!

I stopped at Trader Joe’s to pick up a bunch of stuff and also got a skinny vanilla latte from Starbucks.

Well, when I got out of my car to wait for them to take it into the bay…I discovered this:

That’s right…SOMEONE backed into my car and broke my grill 😦   I can’t even make a sad face sad enough to capture my mood!  WTF people!  I don’t even know when it happened because I had just noticed it when I got up to the dealership.  But what kind of person backs up and hits a car that hard (where it obviously made damage) and then doesn’t leave a note.  Grrrrr.

While I waited for them to now give me a sticker AND a quote for the damage ($439 in case you are wondering), I helped myself to a complimentary Nutri-Grain bar.

To be honest, I felt like eating 439 of them just because I must be there most valued customer!  I beginning to think I am single-handedly making business thrive at Ira Mazda.  Maybe I should buy some stock in the company??

Sandra Bullock has been quoted saying, “I’m a true believer in karma. You get what you give, whether it’s bad or good.”  And I believe that too.  So while I am trying to figure out what it is I put out there to have this happen to me, I hope that person who hit my car is getting what they gave.

Do you believe in karma?  That what you put out there in the universe, whether it be actions, thoughts, or an attitude, will come back to you?

Off for a Sunday morning run and some family time.

~L

 

Leave a Reply

