Shake It Up

Only in New England can it be 70 degrees one day, and then, the day after the first day of spring, snow!  I mean, I guess since we haven’t seen snow in so long I should’t complain and it is not like it’s sticking, but come on!

Operation Breakfast Smoothie was mildly successful today.

By mildly successful I mean it was drinkable.

I made it with 1 frozen banana, 1 cup skim milk, a handful of ice (which DID not even become blended at all), and a scoop of chocolate Shakeology.

It tasted like a freezer-burned fudgesicle and had the consistency of warm, melted ice cream.

Not very refreshing but….

I drank it all and was completely satisfied until mid-morning.

Shakeology claims to be “The Healthiest Meal of the Day” and it actually helped my friend Meghan lose over 100 pounds last year by replacing one meal of snack with a shake each day, and of course eating right and exercise!

By the end of week four I should expect:

  • improved digestion and regularity
  • reduced cravings (man is this one chocolatey shake)
  • increased energy and stamina
  • lost weight
  • improved mental clarity

I really wanted to try it out as a healthy snack choice.  If I replaced a meal with it I have a feeling I would drop dead in Crossfit 😉

I love that it came with a monthly calendar that gave daily suggestions for how to create different shakes!

Since I am going into my second month at Crossfit and I am giving Shakeology a try, I am going to be taking some measurements tonight to track my progress at the end of April.  I am not going to be a slave to the scale, I don’t even own one, but taking measurements will help me track my progress.  I can’t wait to see what one month will bring.

Game plan?

  • Shakeology once a day for snack
  • Crossfit 3-4 days a week
  • Running 3-4 days a week

I guess once I figure out how to blend things together appropriately I will be golden!  All you smoothie makers out there (Starbucks that includes you) make it look so easy.  Or maybe I am a moron?!

Do you have any fitness or health goals for this month??

Lunch was delish so I must share it with you.  I made a shredded chicken sandwich with lettuce, and an individual string cheese.  Oh, and the best part was the tortilla.

It was perfectly spicy.

See what I mean?  Yum!

Tonight I have Crossfit.  The WOD is titled “Filthy Fifty”.  Sounds intriguing, yeah?!

Do you have any smoothie advice for me?  I am dying over here trying to perfect my smoothie skills!

~L

Leave a Reply

