Filthy 50

I have been having some blog technical difficulites the past couple of days.  I hope everything will be smooth sailing from here on out.  Let’s catch up, shall we? 😉

Monday night during CrossFit our WOD was called the “Filthy 50”.

Since they post the WOD on their Facebook page the night before, I had plenty of time to stress about if I could actually survive the class.

I did survive if you are wondering…..

Before CrossFit I stopped into my old stomping grounds, Boston Sports Club, to finally cancel my monthly memebership.  BSC was a great gym with lots of classes and amenities that made it worth the money I paid to go there.  I have been debating if I should or should cancel for a couple months now, but seeing that I was keeping it solely for acces to a treadmill to run in inclement weather is just not the best idea.  I was expecting a little more of a fight from the manager, but he simply just canceled my account.

I munched on an almond cherry Clif bar for an afternoon snack.

I had ever tried this flavor before.  It was sweeter than the other I have tried.  It was..very…cherry!?  Good!

Eating a Clif bar about an hour before class has really sustains me through my workout.  Eating too much or too close (like I did last week before the Kettlebell Class) does not make my stomach feel good.

Moving on.

Filthy 50:

  • 50 box jumps (20 inch box)
  • 50 jumping pull ups
  • 50 KB swings (I think I used 12lb?)
  • 50 walking lunges
  • 50 knees to elbows (these were torture..something I need to work on for sure)
  • 50 push press (35lb bar)
  • 50 back extensions
  • 50 wall ball shots (10lb ball)
  • 50 burpees (I did all 50!)
  • 50 double unders (these are hard..i did like no real double unders though i tried!  Did like 100 singles instead)

Done in 36:15.

It was a benchmark workout we recorded on our cards so we can see our growth next time.  I definitely have some improvements I’d like to see by then:

  1. Box Jumps: I am just getting the hang of hitting the top of the box with straight-ish knees and jumping right back down, as opposed to stepping down.  By next time I’d like to be doing these faster.
  2. Knees to Elbows:  Right now I do not have the shoulder strength to hold myself in the low pull up position, this means when I am trying to hold myself to bring my knees to my elbows it feels like my arms are being pulled out of their sockets.  Not a good feeling!  By the next time I’d like to be able to get the kipping down and strength built to do more than 3 at a time.  These things are torture right now!
  3. Double Unders:  The movement is supposed to be faster in the wrist, not higher in the jump.  A double under is when the rope passes under your feet twice before they hit the ground. Not. Easy.

Throughout the workout John, the instructor, was helping everyone out.  He saw me using that negative motion I was using in my pull ups a few weeks ago during my push press.  Bascially, you are supposed to move up and down in one fluid motion.  I am stopping at the top and controlling the bar all the way down.  It works different muscles and make myself tired more quickly.  After I made a conscience effort to NOT control the negative motion I was able to “breeze” through the 50 reps.

Last night I headed to Crossfit bootcamp and made some pretty amazing homemade pizzas.  The key to my success was a bottle of wine 😉

Stay tuned,

~L

Leave a Reply

