40:40 Club

Today I successfully made a smoothie that was so delicious and creamy, and I can attribute it to a sliced frozen banana, 1/2 cup of almond milk, 1/2 cup of water, and a few ice cubes (and some online coaching from my friend Meghan).  They blended together so well that I almost licked the cup clean when it was gone.

I sipped on a french vanilla iced coffee and munched on a banana mid-morning to hold me through until lunch.  I really like that I am getting into smoothies.  I’d like to find a good protein powder to add to other smoothie variations that would taste great with summer fruits like berries and melons.

Last night I also prepped dinner so that it could be thrown in the oven and cooked before I headed out to Crossfit tonight.  I made lasagna using:

  • Barilla no-bake noodles (you’ve got to try these if you haven’t already)
  • a couple of cups of home made marinara sauce ( I like my lasagna saucy)
  • ricotta mixed with an egg, basil, and grated cheese
  • a handful or two of mozzarella cheese

I layered it and left it in the fridge overnight and let it sit a room temperature when I got home today for about 15 minutes before baking it , covered with foil, at 375 for about an hour.

I love that by the time I got home tonight I was able to let it set.  I love when it sets because it isn’t as messy!

I also made a fresh salad for the week made with romaine lettuce, diced carrots, cucumbers, and Good Seasons Italian dressing (made with balsamic vinegar instead of white).  This dressing is the ultimate summer dressing.  It tastes so light and fresh.

Crossfit tonight was insane.  I didn’t think it looked to bad when I checked it out online, I mean, they scheduled a 3 minute break between each round.  I’ll never make that mistake again!  Come to find out, the 3 minute breaks are used in Olympic lifting because it allows your body to fully recover before continuing a workout.  I tried my hardest to sprint through each round.

WOD: Barbara

5 rounds for time/ 3 minute break between rounds

  • 20 pull-ups (I did 3 rounds using the band..soooo hard…and 2 rounds of jumping)
  • 30 push ups (knee modification)
  • 40 ab mat sit ups
  • 50 air squats

My total time (including 4, 3 minute breaks) was 40:40.  Subtracting the 12 minutes of rest it was a total time of 28:40.

I am exhausted and my lasagna is staring me in the face.  I must eat!

What food reminds you most of summer?

~L

Leave a Reply

